Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Need to install both Nvidia RAID and AHCI drivers on same install....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,359
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    660
    Thanked in
    482 Posts

    Default Need to install both Nvidia RAID and AHCI drivers on same install....

    I've encountered a little problem here.....

    On my builds, I set the Nvidia SATA controller to RAID even if I'm not currently setting up an array because IF I do need to set up an array, I just go into the RAID BIOS and add the necessary drives and there's no need to reinstall anything if you want to mirror a drive.

    The problem is, AHCI is the default setting and if you switch from RAID to AHCI in the BIOS, you get a BSOD instead of Windows and the user freaks out.

    Of course, if you toggle back to RAID, Windows boots right up again, but customers aren't that smart. You ask them if they changed anything in the BIOS and they typically say "no".

    I would like to be able to install both RAID and AHCI drivers in Windows so it will boot up either way.

    I already tried "update driver" and manually installed "Nvidia SATA Controller" and rebooted, but I still get the BSOD.

    Any help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    446
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm more of a Windows-hater than expert, but I'd try using one of the techniques (either sysprep or just deleting the hard drive drivers before rebooting) to get Windows to boot on a different motherboard.

    Then boot to AHCI, let it load drivers, then try switching back.

    I'm not at all sure that'll work, but it's an idea.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,359
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    660
    Thanked in
    482 Posts

    Default

    You know what's funny... I tried manually switching the drivers, but didn't try deleting them. Let me give that a shot.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,359
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    660
    Thanked in
    482 Posts

    Default

    That didn't work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,715
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    74
    Thanked in
    68 Posts

    Default

    Du you have an extra PCI Controller or an IDE to S-ATA Adaptor? (so you can plug a S-ATA Drive into an IDE port).

    Without it, you'll have a problem since the AMD Chips are AFAIK the only ones that allow an IDE mode on 2 of the ports.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,359
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    660
    Thanked in
    482 Posts

    Default

    No. I only have SATA ports. This is a notebook.

Similar Threads

  1. Can I install a new PSU into my OLD PC
    By arcade_portal32 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 02-05-2017, 09:50 PM
  2. Install Processor
    By kavinduravishan in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2015, 05:33 AM
  3. How does this install into a case?
    By Redbeard in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-24-2008, 11:48 PM
  4. Can I install a PSU upside down?
    By GeneralOreo in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-13-2007, 08:21 AM
  5. win 98 won't install
    By ianm2 in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-17-2007, 01:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •