Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: core i7 950 OC problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Unhappy core i7 950 OC problem

    hello....
    (my system specs are below in my signature)

    Now i dont know that is my i7 950 D0 is bad batch or i am doing something wrong in overclocking.my Overclock is 10 hours prime95 stable @ 3.7GHz and the settings i used in bios are.

    23x multiplier
    BCLK 161
    DRAMFrequency 1614 MHz
    UCLK 3227 MHz

    8-8-8-21

    CPU VTT 1.22
    QPI 1.4
    Dram volts 1.54

    rest of everything is on AUTO and HT is also OFF /Turbo is also OFF
    on these settings my i7 950 @ 3.7GHz is stable more then 10 hours in prime95 blend test and NO errors but when i try to overclock my cpu to 4 GHz its even not stable @ 1.33v

    the settings i used for OC it to 4 GHz is same as above except Dram is running @ 1750 MHz and even its not stable if i run the ram @ 1450 MHz.even increasing / decresing Multi & Bclk is not stable @ 4ghz on 1.33v.so why my i7 950 requires such a high increase in CPUVTT from 3.7GHz to 4GHz.
    3.7GHz stable on 1.22v while for 4GHz it take more then 1.33v.why is this?
    CPU: Intel Core i7 950 @ 3.7GHz w/o HT 1.22v 24/7 * | Cpu Cooler: Thermaright 120 ULTRA Xtreme | Board: ASUS P6t6 WS Revolution | Mem: 6GB DDR3 G.Skills PC3 16000 Running @ 1600 MHz 8-8-8-21 @ 1.54v QPI @ 1.4 | GPU: Nvidia 3 x XFX GTX 260 Core 216 3-WAY SLI @ 700/1250/1431 (Core/Memory/Shader)
    | HDD:- 640GB S-ATA Seagate Baracuda 32 Mb Cache 7200 Rpm | Cassing: NZXT Tempest *BIG TOWER*
    PSU: Xigmatik NRP 1500 Watts

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kayawish24 View Post
    3.7GHz stable on 1.22v while for 4GHz it take more then 1.33v.why is this?
    Because you're running the CPU past what it's specified for, and the relationship between higher stable clock speeds and higher voltages is not a linear one. CPUs in general pretty much always require increasing amounts of extra voltage as you try and hit higher speeds.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    800
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Because the PCIe is on the buss & it needs more voltage.

    Explanation: http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...px?i=3634&p=19
    Yes. One of the last commincations I had with Dave Hammock before he disappeared from the web was how a major brand single +12V rail PSU wasn't shutting down when shorted. We were literally arc welding with the PSU. Hopefully Dave's absense isn't due to the fact that he got over zealous with the welding.
    JonnyGURU Posted 4-1-08

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidhammock200 View Post
    Because the PCIe is on the buss & it needs more voltage.

    Explanation: http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...px?i=3634&p=19
    The i7 950 does not have an integrated PCI-E controller.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    800
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
    The i7 950 does not have an integrated PCI-E controller.
    No, the i5's due & it is probably my next major purchase, a complete new system, so I am afraid that I have i5 750 on the brain.
    Last edited by davidhammock200; 09-11-2009 at 11:52 PM.
    Yes. One of the last commincations I had with Dave Hammock before he disappeared from the web was how a major brand single +12V rail PSU wasn't shutting down when shorted. We were literally arc welding with the PSU. Hopefully Dave's absense isn't due to the fact that he got over zealous with the welding.
    JonnyGURU Posted 4-1-08

Similar Threads

  1. XFX Pro Series Core going v2
    By Tator Tot in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-10-2011, 04:39 AM
  2. New four-core Core 2 Extreme
    By Kab in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2007, 09:42 PM
  3. 80-core Tera
    By CAD4466HK in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2007, 03:05 PM
  4. Core 3 processor
    By burebista in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 01:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •