Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: PSU Upgrade

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default PSU Upgrade

    Hi,

    Have been running a Thermaltake Toughpower 600w for a few years now.

    Recently I upgraded the GPU to a power hungry heat monster GTX 275 which is requiring a cooling rethink. Have also been encountering display issues (panels not redrawing correctly in Adobe CS3) that don't seem to be down to the drivers and it occured to me maybe my PSU is karking it.

    Have 1TB WD Black and 750 WD Blue and 4 s-flex 1600's in an Antec p160.

    So am looking at replacing the PSU with a Corsair HX750 or 850 and perhaps the case to a Lancool pc-k62 or Lian Li A71F. In the future I might add another GTX 275 and perhaps a couple more drives. Will the 750 or the 850 cope with this or do I need to go even bigger.
    It may be the Thermaltake is fine and it's something else.

    Any recommendations - not stuck on Corsair but looks quite dependable, efficient and not too much more than Antec or similar.

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,590
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    According to SLIzone.com the Antec TruePower New 550w is certified for dual GTX275's.

    take that with a grain of salt, but I think you'd probably be fine with either the HX750 or 850.
    Rig 1: Phenom II X2 550-Asus M5A78L-MLX--2x4 Patriot DDR3 1333--Asus Formula HD4770--Enermax Triathlor 450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 10 x64
    Rig 2: Core i3 6300--Asrock Z170M Extreme4--2x8 Adata DDR4 2400--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair CX500M--Corsair Hydro H55--Windows 7 x64

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for your reply. Would like to play it safe and get the HX850 but extra 50 bucks would look nice in my wallet so probably go for HX750. Seems like a fairly safe choice. If it's not powerful enough for SLI later i'll flog it. With the amount of heat a single 275 pumps out 2 might be a bad move.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You didn't mention what CPU and motherboard you'll be using, but the HX750 should be plenty for GTX275 SLI.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    Using OCed e6600 at 3GHZ on p5b Deluxe Wifi. Will probably upgrade to i5 when they are established.

    My current PSU is 48a over 4 rails of 18a each. Not sure what load balancing if any there is so think it might be an issue. Running 2 PCIe power cables to GTX 275 from the PSU.

    Cheers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The 600W Toughpower is a CWT PSH, so it should really be a single-rail PSU. No need to worry about rail balancing. With your current system and two GTX275s in SLI, you'd be close to its limit but not over. However, a new PSU would be a good idea since it's preferable not to push a PSU to its limits.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks very much for your feedback. If you think the PSU I have is sufficient i'll stick with it for now until I go SLi then upgrade.

    Cheers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yes, the Toughpower is definitely enough for your system with a single GTX275.
    Last edited by Zero82z; 08-26-2009 at 12:11 AM. Reason: Typo
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Toronto ON
    Posts
    96
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Unless your power supply has failed, I think it's more likely heat is causing your problems than lack of power - though drivers or some other software issue would be my first guess (unless software monitors show exhorbitant temperatures). As others have said 600W is plenty for single GTX275.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Many thanks guys. Something is rotten in Denmark but i'll save the PSU upgrade for now. Have a positive pressure case with 2 x s-flex 1600 intake and only PSU and Antec tricool outtake. Think there must be heat spots in there. Will look at getting a pc-k62 or pc-a71f to balance it better or just cut a hole in the top of my Antec p160.

Similar Threads

  1. Should I upgrade my PSU?
    By tanasen in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2018, 06:13 PM
  2. New PC - psu upgrade - Help!
    By jmez44 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-30-2010, 09:16 PM
  3. Need Upgrade?
    By grndragon57 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-31-2009, 04:47 PM
  4. Should I upgrade PSU?
    By DusterAZ in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-21-2007, 12:56 PM
  5. Bbq's upgrade !
    By Bbq in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-04-2007, 12:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •