Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 57

Thread: Video card memory question

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    37
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I will be putting in the order for my case tonight when I get back to my apartment, and then next weekend will be attempt-to-build time I think. Now, I plan to use my 2 current IDE hard drives since I've had no problems with them and want to save a little money (and all my stuff, of course...)

    So what I'm wondering, which I hadn't really thought about much until just doing a search on it now, is how I will be able to go about that, in regards to the Windows XP that I currently have installed on the old computer. How easily can I just pull the hard drives out and plug them into the new system, and have everything work ok? I do believe I have the original XP CD(s) that came with my Dell somewhere around here if they're needed.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I always prefer to do a fresh install of Windows when building a new PC. You probably won't be able to use your Dell install discs, but if you can get your hands on an OEM XP install CD, you should be able to use the serial number from the sticker on your Dell to install it on the new machine.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    37
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
    I always prefer to do a fresh install of Windows when building a new PC. You probably won't be able to use your Dell install discs, but if you can get your hands on an OEM XP install CD, you should be able to use the serial number from the sticker on your Dell to install it on the new machine.
    How would I go about obtaining one of these CDs? And what would likely happen if I, A.) tried just plugging in the hard drives and booting up the machine, or B.) tried using the install CD I have here?

    I forgot to mention too, although I don't really see that this would make it any easier, that I don't care if my current secondary hard drive is turned into my main one or anything like that. Whatever will be the easiest to set up.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by voltagexx View Post
    How would I go about obtaining one of these CDs?
    You might be able to buy one from Microsoft, or you could borrow one from a friend if you know anyone who might have one. Failing that, you may have to resort to more gray-area measures .
    Quote Originally Posted by voltagexx View Post
    And what would likely happen if I, A.) tried just plugging in the hard drives and booting up the machine
    You'd probably get a BSOD on boot.
    Quote Originally Posted by voltagexx View Post
    or B.) tried using the install CD I have here?
    It would probably refuse to install since it's a non-Dell machine. You could give it a shot though.
    Quote Originally Posted by voltagexx View Post
    I forgot to mention too, although I don't really see that this would make it any easier, that I don't care if my current secondary hard drive is turned into my main one or anything like that. Whatever will be the easiest to set up.
    Doesn't make a difference either way. You just have to realize that you'll lose all your installed programs and settings, so you'll have to back stuff up and prepare to set everything up again from scratch.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    37
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
    You might be able to buy one from Microsoft, or you could borrow one from a friend if you know anyone who might have one. Failing that, you may have to resort to more gray-area measures .
    Good ol' torrents...should be done downloading in about 8 minutes. Then I just have to find where they stuck the product key on my computer. And...well, figure out how to get it on CD, seeing as my burner doesn't work. ha

    Doesn't make a difference either way. You just have to realize that you'll lose all your installed programs and settings, so you'll have to back stuff up and prepare to set everything up again from scratch.
    Is this a definite, that I will lose everything?
    Now that I will have the CD, do I just throw it in the DVD to boot up the computer for the first time and it will go over what is already loaded on my C drive? I guess I've really never set up a computer from ground zero so to speak, so I'm not sure exactly what I have to do. I'm thinking what I will do is try to copy everything from my C drive onto the newer larger drive I got a couple months ago, and then just leave that hard drive out at the beginning to simplify things. Then once I've got the C drive in and working on the new computer, I'll plop the new one in and move over anything that got lost? Does that sound like it will work?

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by voltagexx View Post
    Is this a definite, that I will lose everything?
    When you reinstall Windows, the best way to go about it would be to delete the current partition and make a new one, which means that you'll lose everything that is on it. However, you can back up all of your files onto your other hard drive, so you won't lose any of your data. You will have to reinstall all your programs and set up Windows to how you like it, but you won't lose any of your files as long as you back them up beforehand.
    Quote Originally Posted by voltagexx View Post
    Now that I will have the CD, do I just throw it in the DVD to boot up the computer for the first time and it will go over what is already loaded on my C drive? I guess I've really never set up a computer from ground zero so to speak, so I'm not sure exactly what I have to do.
    The installation process is fairly simple. All you have to do is put the disc in, boot from it, and follow the prompts. If you need any help, just ask.
    Quote Originally Posted by voltagexx View Post
    I'm thinking what I will do is try to copy everything from my C drive onto the newer larger drive I got a couple months ago, and then just leave that hard drive out at the beginning to simplify things. Then once I've got the C drive in and working on the new computer, I'll plop the new one in and move over anything that got lost? Does that sound like it will work?
    What I would recommend is that you just copy over your data rather than keeping all your OS files and installed programs (since those will be useless to your new installation), but you could do either one. If you copy over everything, you'll just have to sort through it all afterward.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Posts
    1,072
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Some people say they have success just going into device manager and uninstalling most of their main drivers like chipset, etc...
    Quote Originally Posted by JFK
    The American, by nature, is optimistic. He is experimental, an inventor and a builder who builds best when called upon to build greatly

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 370forlife View Post
    Some people say they have success just going into device manager and uninstalling most of their main drivers like chipset, etc...
    There are ways to move an existing Windows installation to a new hardware setup, but from my experience it's always better to start from scratch, especially with XP.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    37
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
    When you reinstall Windows, the best way to go about it would be to delete the current partition and make a new one, which means that you'll lose everything that is on it. However, you can back up all of your files onto your other hard drive, so you won't lose any of your data. You will have to reinstall all your programs and set up Windows to how you like it, but you won't lose any of your files as long as you back them up beforehand.
    Probably a stupid question, but how do I best go about this? I think I've copied over all of my documents and other things that I want to keep, and got a copy of Windows XP burned onto a CD and wrote down the product key from the side of my current computer.
    I think Saturday will be the build day.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just make sure that all the documents and settings you want to keep have been copied over to your secondary drive. Be sure, since you'll be wiping everything off the main drive. Once that's done, you're good to go. Just stick in the installation CD, reboot and make sure the BIOS is set to boot from the CD, and go ahead with the install process. You might want to disconnect the secondary drive to make it simpler when you're setting up the install partition. When it prompts you to pick a partition to install to, follow the instructions to delete the partition on your main drive, and then make a new one encompassing all its space. Select that partition, and Windows will begin to install. From that point on, just follow the instructions, since most of it is just configuring different settings like the time and the location.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

Similar Threads

  1. Bad video card?
    By Drosophil in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-23-2015, 02:59 PM
  2. Possible faulty video card?
    By L'acquer in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-01-2014, 08:59 AM
  3. PSU/Video Card Upgrade
    By Molecular in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 08-19-2009, 10:44 AM
  4. PSU not enough for video card
    By an51r in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 09:06 AM
  5. Memory card internal pics - which is best?
    By pepsi_max2k in forum Electronic Component Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-2008, 02:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •