Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: is this a good unit?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    54
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default is this a good unit?

    OCZ 600w
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...namitedata.com

    my friend has maybe 2-3 hdds, AMD 940 quad, gtx 260 4gb of ram

    not much to take up 600w but is this unit reliable? thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    2,367
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    As a 600W unit it's reliable and having a lot of headroom for this rig. However it's not in the "better half" of 600W units.
    Last edited by Travis; 06-11-2009 at 02:02 AM.
    It's been a hard day's night and I've been working like a dog.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    684
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    20
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I bought one a while back, but even at 50% off I wasn't overly impressed. But it's not downright crap either of course. Just note that the cables are short, the ATX cable is very short. So if you're using a big case, it might not reach the connector.

    Rig 1: Core i5 6600K - Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - Corsair Vengeance 16GB PC2666 RAM - MSI GeForce GTX1070 - Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD + 2TB Seagate SSHD - Corsair RM550x - Fractal Design R5 - Win10 64

    Rig 2: Ryzen 1700X @ 3.9 GHz - Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5 - Corsair LPX 16GB PC3200 RAM - Gigabyte GeForce 1070 - 250GB Samsung EVO 850 SSD - Corsair RM650i - Win10 64
    HTPC: AMD A6-6400k - MSI FM2-A75IA-E53 mITX - 8GB Kingston HyperX 1866MHz - 3.5TB storage - Silver Power 460W passive - CM Elite 120

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    123
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shift View Post
    not much to take up 600w but is this unit reliable? thanks
    As long as you don't draw more than 500W or so, you should be fine with that PSU if you already bought it. If you haven't, there are better choices like the BFG LS-550.

    As Smirnoff and Travis noted, that PSU isn't bad but it isn't good either. Just decent.
    (Gaming Rig) - Intel E6400 OC'd @ 3.2Ghz || AC7Pro HSF || GA-965P-DS3 Rev. 1.0 || 4 x 1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 Ram || Maxtor 320GB HDD|| 3 x Seagate 1TB HDD || NEC ND3550A DVD-RW || nVidia 8800GT 512MB PCI-E || Corsair 520HX 520W PSU || Antec P180 || Win XP Pro
    (Server) - Intel Pentium III 866Mhz || 512MB PC133 RAM || 1 x Western Digital 40GB HDD || 2 x Seagate 120GB HDD || Maxtor 320GB & 500GB HDD || Earthwatts 380W PSU || Ubuntu Server Edition

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    54
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Travis View Post
    As a 600W unit it's reliable and having a lot of headroom for this rig. However it's not in the "better half" of 600W units.
    ok great this is what I wanted to know. The rig up there is pretty much everything will be powered. Nothing like quad 295s

    Quote Originally Posted by Smirnoff View Post
    I bought one a while back, but even at 50% off I wasn't overly impressed. But it's not downright crap either of course. Just note that the cables are short, the ATX cable is very short. So if you're using a big case, it might not reach the connector.
    thanks for letting me know. My friend has a centurion 5 case so it wont be a problem


    Quote Originally Posted by dangman4ever View Post
    As long as you don't draw more than 500W or so, you should be fine with that PSU if you already bought it. If you haven't, there are better choices like the BFG LS-550.

    As Smirnoff and Travis noted, that PSU isn't bad but it isn't good either. Just decent.
    it hasnt been purchased yet. I'm trying to buy it for $60, and yeah just need something decent that wont blow up. The system above is pretty much everything that will be powered up, so as long as this doesnt explode he'll be ok with it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    How close would crossfired 4850's or 4870's (+q6600 at 3.0ghz) get to pushing this unit?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,333
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joeperson View Post
    How close would crossfired 4850's or 4870's (+q6600 at 3.0ghz) get to pushing this unit?
    You should not have a problem. The regulation is not as tight as several competing units but the wheels don't fall off either.
    Software readings are crap.

Similar Threads

  1. APC AVR unit...
    By Baron in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 02:26 AM
  2. Another FSP built unit
    By bocool in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 02:12 PM
  3. How sketchy is this $17 unit?
    By lesterp in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-24-2008, 09:06 PM
  4. OEM for this unit?
    By Stefan555 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-19-2008, 10:01 AM
  5. 2kW Unit from Thermaltake?
    By Super Nade in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-10-2007, 08:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •