Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Load Testing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    800
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Question Load Testing

    Can your tester handle the +12V loads required to test fully loaded at 60A, 70A & 80A or more?

    Where is the cutoff point.

    I have an idea that I think you & everyone else will like,
    but first let's see if it is even possible.

    Thanks,
    Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    148
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    The SM-268 goes up to 73.3A, but the last time I did that I blew out two MOSFET's on the 12V loading banks. I never let it go above 70A these days. Theoretically I have three more electronic loads coming that will supplement it and allow testing of units well over 1200W in size. If they ever get here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    800
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Oklahoma Wolf View Post
    The SM-268 goes up to 73.3A, but the last time I did that I blew out two MOSFET's on the 12V loading banks. I never let it go above 70A these days. Theoretically I have three more electronic loads coming that will supplement it and allow testing of units well over 1200W in size. If they ever get here.
    Please let me know when they get here!

    Thanks,
    Dave

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    2,374
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    My limit is 150~160A.
    It's been a hard day's night and I've been working like a dog.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    800
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by Travis View Post
    My limit is 150~160A.
    WoW! Fantastic!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    148
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidhammock200 View Post
    Please let me know when they get here!
    They're here. I'm up to 130A at 12V... if I'm going easy on the new loads. Still need to integrate them into the review setup, but that shouldn't take too long. Should be ready just in time for the Enermax 1250W.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    800
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default CONGRATS!

    Quote Originally Posted by Oklahoma Wolf View Post
    They're here. I'm up to 130A at 12V... if I'm going easy on the new loads. Still need to integrate them into the review setup, but that shouldn't take too long. Should be ready just in time for the Enermax 1250W.
    Please let me know when they have "settled in" & you are comfortable with them.

    Many thanks,
    Dave
    Yes. One of the last commincations I had with Dave Hammock before he disappeared from the web was how a major brand single +12V rail PSU wasn't shutting down when shorted. We were literally arc welding with the PSU. Hopefully Dave's absense isn't due to the fact that he got over zealous with the welding.
    JonnyGURU Posted 4-1-08

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,090
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    this should have been a headlines

    excellent stuff, by the way, i hope you have a video recorder, we wanna watch those stupid power supplies smokin`

    videos

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    800
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
    this should have been a headlines

    excellent stuff, by the way, i hope you have a video recorder, we wanna watch those stupid power supplies smokin`

    videos
    Although that may happen, it is not the idea.
    Yes. One of the last commincations I had with Dave Hammock before he disappeared from the web was how a major brand single +12V rail PSU wasn't shutting down when shorted. We were literally arc welding with the PSU. Hopefully Dave's absense isn't due to the fact that he got over zealous with the welding.
    JonnyGURU Posted 4-1-08

Similar Threads

  1. 12V load for burn-in testing
    By ashiekh in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-14-2018, 03:52 PM
  2. Designing a load machine for PSU testing
    By Ash in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 09:01 PM
  3. Ripple testing with which load ?
    By Ash in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 07:06 PM
  4. Combine 12V rails for load testing?
    By ~*77*~ in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 02:45 AM
  5. Harwaresecrets now into load testing [Sunmoon]
    By Super Nade in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-15-2007, 11:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •