Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: G80 with A64, X2, AM2, 939 results

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default G80 with A64, X2, AM2, 939 results

    It seems that us A64 users might want to reconsider or OC the frell out of our
    CPU's before we upgrade to the G80's

    According to the non-DX10 benchmarks, at least a 2.4Ghz for the 8800GTS
    and at least 2.6Ghz for the 8800GTX to be worth the upgrade.

    It seems a C2D might be on my Christmas list this year

    I can only imagine how bad it will be when the DX10 titles paired with Vista
    come out

    It's going to take more then just having a 750w-1kw PSU to drive these monsters to the max {meaning quad-core, 4x4}
    http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/...d_cpu_scaling/
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern CA, USA.
    Posts
    53
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So I guess I am pretty much ok for now with my 2.75ghz Opteron 165 (I will be pushing for higher once I get my watercooling setup put together) I run 2.8ghz in the cooler months and all the fans on full (usually only at 1/2 speed for noise). I might be using my evga step-up for a GTX or GTS eventually.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I wish I "could" step up
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    679
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I should be ok with a 3 ghz 146 at 1.4 v.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I am fairly confident that DirectX 10 will actually aleviate the CPU bottlenecking issues. If you read up on it, the new D3d version is set to reduce ops send to graphics subsystems like the CPU in an effort to keep most of the calcs on the gpu.

    However, this is only the "goal". Reality may be something entirely different.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CAD4466HK View Post
    I wish I "could" step up


    I just sent off my GTS back to eVGA to step up to a GTX.Next time grab a eVGA,and you will be able to do a step up as well
    AMD64 X2 3800+@2.49Ghz~1.39v/Asetek VapoChill Micro™ HIGH-END/2Gigs Corsair 3500 LL Pro 2-3-2-6@249
    eVGA 8800 GTS@stock/Asus A8N-E.1013bios/Corsair HX520/Dell 2005FPW + Hyundai L90D+/Ratzpad/XpPro.Sp2
    Thermaltake Soprano/1 Western Digital WD5000YS RE2/2 Seagate 73gig.10k rpm
    Cheetah's
    +Mylex.Acceleraid 170+128mb ECC/Lite-On.1693s
    SB X-Fi Platinum/Sennheiser 497'S

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Manny Calavera View Post
    I just sent off my GTS back to eVGA to step up to a GTX.Next time grab a eVGA,and you will be able to do a step up as well
    I've had 5 eVGA 7900gt KO's and after I bought the first one thru Newegg,and
    RMA'ed it thru eVGA the second time, I'm not able to step up anymore since
    July, trust me, I would rather "down" step to a working 7800GTX
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CAD4466HK View Post
    I've had 5 eVGA 7900gt KO's and after I bought the first one thru Newegg,and
    RMA'ed it thru eVGA the second time, I'm not able to step up anymore since
    July, trust me, I would rather "down" step to a working 7800GTX


    Wow,sorry to hear about your troubles with your system
    AMD64 X2 3800+@2.49Ghz~1.39v/Asetek VapoChill Micro™ HIGH-END/2Gigs Corsair 3500 LL Pro 2-3-2-6@249
    eVGA 8800 GTS@stock/Asus A8N-E.1013bios/Corsair HX520/Dell 2005FPW + Hyundai L90D+/Ratzpad/XpPro.Sp2
    Thermaltake Soprano/1 Western Digital WD5000YS RE2/2 Seagate 73gig.10k rpm
    Cheetah's
    +Mylex.Acceleraid 170+128mb ECC/Lite-On.1693s
    SB X-Fi Platinum/Sennheiser 497'S

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That really depends if the game is or isn't limited by your current cpu power. Besides, even if you don't get much higher framrates in some older title (on your old cpu), you can still run them now with all the bells and whistles of x16 af / x4+x16 aa in 1600x1200 or higher

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    985
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Actually, I wrote a huge thread about this over on NCIX. The difference between AM2 and the Conroes at stock speed is next to nothing when it comes to higher-resolution gaming. Do you notice that they didn't include any Conroes in those benchmarks? I wonder why. Here is a picture I made which includes a few outtakes from this AMD article and their original 8800 test with a X6800:



    Anyone else notice that the scores are virtually identical? This goes to show that the who myth of a AMD X2 processor bottlenecking a G80 is quite a bunch of BS. The X2 4200+ scores are virtually identical to the scores achieved with the X6800 when using the 8800GTS.

    For more info about this and counter arguments:
    http://forum.ncix.com/forums/index.p...&pcbuilderid=0

Similar Threads

  1. Inconsistent Memtest results?
    By Heckinwoofer in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2018, 11:55 AM
  2. active-PFC testing with UPS results ?
    By BadSparks in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-14-2014, 12:54 PM
  3. E6750 Results....
    By theELVISCERATOR in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 11:34 PM
  4. SLI Power Consumption Results
    By Jon Gerow in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 12-10-2007, 04:02 PM
  5. PSU test results - Help!
    By Malazan in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-01-2007, 10:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •