Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Normal or not??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Normal or not??

    I found the +12v adjustment in my PS and was tweaking it a bit this evening and made a funny discovery.. I have it so the BIOS reads 12.3 but if I stick my multi
    meter on it I get 15.57!!! Ok, my first thought was dang meter!! (its a old crappy digital) so I got an old Antec out the the closet for a reference check.. It measured 15.24!?!

    When adjusting rail voltage should you be looking at the rail its self or at what the PCs BIOS thinks it is??

    Thanks!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    108
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Uh, are you sure your connecting it betwen the correct terminals on your connectors?
    YOU KEPT ME CLOSER TO GOD.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    148
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Change meter batteries

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Hmmmm,, Yeah I'm Sure.. doing it on the molex connectors... Changed the batteries too, good call btw.. but still read the same.. So I rememberd, DUH, you have a really nice (old) analog meter too!! Read 12.4 ish.. who can really read those needles that close..

    Off to pitch my old DMM and start saving up for that Fluke I have been wanting for years..

    Sorry for the stupid post guys..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    If the pot you found really does adjust 12V, you might want to bring it down from 12.4.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Since I have you in here Jonny, Should I try to get it dead on at +12.0V?? I'm Over clocking as much as i can with my crappy old intel 650 and Asus p5ad2-e.. and I heard you should run your rail up a little.. Please, Please correct me if I have read wrong information.. I try to hit several sites but you know, everyone has an opinion and sometimes I only read the wrong ones...

    Thanks Jonny!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    Try to get it at 12V under load.

    But if it's as high as 12.4 at idle, tweak it down to 12.3.

    On that same note, if your PSU is going from 12.3 to 12V from idle to load, then it doesn't have very good regulation and you may want to repalce it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I don't want to hijack the thread, but are there alternatives to the Fluke that are still highly regarded? Cheaper alternatives....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    Oh yeah.

    I have one that was only about $120 that is actually more accurate than my Fluke was!

    I'll post the brand as soon as I can find it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Got it down I think JonnyG.. Thanks for the input.. I would also like to hear of your fluke alternative!

    and BTW I'm glad dqniel put his question in, i would have not know otherwise..

Similar Threads

  1. normal for two same model psu's to have many different components?
    By mastershake in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2016, 12:21 PM
  2. Leaking voltage, normal or defective?
    By Kougar in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-28-2012, 07:21 PM
  3. Acbel 1000W - PSU Server for a normal PC
    By lexer98 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2012, 01:34 PM
  4. Antec EA500D - Normal or Faulty?
    By dzo888 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-24-2008, 08:30 AM
  5. Would this be a normal score form 3DMark06?
    By MartyLK in forum The Gaming Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-21-2008, 03:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •