Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to add more hard drives

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default How to add more hard drives

    so i have an 8 sata port motherboard, but i want to add 4 more hard drives.
    i dont want to go usb route, esata, etc
    is it possible to use a raid card without the software just for the hard drives?
    i dont need redundancy of any kind, because whats on the drives is easily replaceable.

    thanks!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,386
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    497
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    So you want to have 12 hard drives?

    Most RAID cards have what's called "JBOD" which stands for "Just A Bunch Of Drives". It seems to me that's what you're looking for.
    Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

    Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    yeh, i thought jbod would work, but i read that if one disk fails, they all fail
    im not really sure, and thats pretty much why i posted...to kinda tiptoe around that but not seem stupid.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,386
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    497
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    That's not true. That's true of RAID-0 when you're striping data across multiple drives that is seen by the OS as one drive. All JBOD is is JUST A BUNCH OF DRIVES. In other words: Multiple drive interfaces interfacing with multiple drives. If one drive dies, that drive dies and that's it. The data on that drive has nothing to do with the other drives outside of the fact that you're using the same controller card to control it.
    Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

    Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    ok awesome, thats what i originally figured, the wiki descript just threw me off since it included spanning with the description of jbod.
    thanks again, and i look foreward to lurking around on your forums, there great!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    119
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'd probably try one of the approx. $20 4 port SATA-PCI cards first; the only drawback would be the PCI bus transfer limitation of about 90MB/sec. If that is a problem, then there are PCI-E 1x cards with 2 SATA ports (maybe 4 port cards are available - I didn't look) which would remove the bandwidth restriction.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    yeh im looking at a pcie 4x version right now, or if i can find a decently priced one pcix i would be happy.
    i think im going to go down to my local shop since they get alot of big work i could get one of the cheap.
    you think 256mb is enough cache?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Atlanta, GA.
    Posts
    123
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TypeRazor View Post
    .
    you think 256mb is enough cache?
    Easily. If you are not RAIDing the drives, an inexpensive card like you are looking at is a great option.
    Corsair Tech Support

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    ive got a follow up question, something im not sure it totally true...
    i went with 8 1.5TB drives, going for RAID 5 or 6..probably 5

    i read that RAID 5/6 drives do NOT spin down during idle time, if this is the case its going to get real hot, even with my high fans...so is it true and is there a way around it?

Similar Threads

  1. foam pads for hard drives
    By garegin in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-09-2013, 07:24 AM
  2. Who's good for hard drives nowadays?
    By Silk_the_Absent1 in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 93
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 01:20 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 07:37 PM
  4. How many hard drives with the Earthwatts 380W PSU?
    By dangman4ever in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-22-2007, 12:50 AM
  5. PSU for hard drives?
    By fullmetal chocobo in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2007, 04:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •