Thread: Interpreting ripple waveforms? (Enermax Modu82+)

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Interpreting ripple waveforms? (Enermax Modu82+)

Looking for info about PSUs in [h]ard|OCP (I like their PSU reviews near as much as jonnyGURU.com ones) I have seen Enermax Modu82+ 625W (the model I'm really interested in is Pro82+, but it's supposed to be exactly the same without the modular conections), but I have a doubt about the interpretation of the ripple waveforms. It's as follows:

Ripple at 100% load 120v (it's a shame they don't make the tests at 220v...): http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/image....lfOF84X2wuZ2lm

Looking at 12v1 (for example) the reviewer says there's a ripple of 45mV max (as far as I've seen from other of their reviews each mark in the vertical axis is 10mv? I'm not an expert and I can't interpret the numbers given in the bottom-right corner).

The question is that it seems to be two different waveforms, one of high frequency inside other of much lower frequency. There is not a single change of more than around 20mV along the graphic (the high frequency changes), but because of the second low-freq waveform if you calculate the difference between the lower voltage measure in the graph and the higher one, you get that ~45mV difference.

Intuitively (but I can be plainly wrong as I've not education in the matter, only intuitions XD) I'd say that such a waveform should be nearer to a ripple of 20mV than a 45mV one considering how it affects components...

Is there someone by here (yes, I know there is ) more educated than I that could tell me about this matter? Am I right or wrong? How this "double" waveform affect components?

Lots of thanks, and sorry about the great-big-boring piece of text, I wanted to explain my question the better I'd be able to.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

CMIIW
    the low freq. waveform = ripple