Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 1200w for 2x 280s?!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    511
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default 1200w for 2x 280s?!

    First up was GT200, which appeared in the form of the GeForce GTX 280 and GeForce GTX 260. Of course, both of those can be paired or tri-ed (if you will), but with two cards requiring at least a 1200W PSU we're a bit worried of trying three.
    http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3341&p=1

    Sounds like utter rubbish to me. Comments?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    What's anandtech?

  3. #3
    yakko is offline What does it take to get a custom title around here?
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    254
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by burebista View Post
    What's anandtech?
    Probably some fly by night website. Let's see if they stay around long enough to develop a good reputation.
    "I like my women like I like my fans. Loud and with oscillation at 3 speeds." yakko
    ----------------
    "It tastes like potassium." Anne
    ----------------
    "By the time I got halfway through the grocery section I was on robototic-get-the-f**k-out mode." Eds

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    511
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    sounded like total crap to me. I'm having a hard time trusting their reviews if they're so off on things like this.

    Course, I haven't been keeping up with the green side of the field. Is it possible that Nvidia designed a graphics card that requires your computer to blackout the block?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,590
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PaulTa View Post
    Is it possible that Nvidia designed a graphics card that requires your computer to blackout the block?
    this is nothing new for nvidia, remember when the 6800's first came out?
    Rig 1: Phenom II X2 550-Asus M5A78L-MLX--2x4 Patriot DDR3 1333--Asus Formula HD4770--Enermax Triathlor 450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 10 x64
    Rig 2: Core i3 6300--Asrock Z170M Extreme4--2x8 Adata DDR4 2400--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair CX500M--Corsair Hydro H55--Windows 7 x64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    684
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    20
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Silly article. There was something wrong with the OCZ and they didn't even bother to investigate.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,865
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    525
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    179
    Thanked in
    129 Posts

    Default

    but with two cards requiring at least a 1200W PSU
    Umm... BFG ES-800 SLI certified for two way GTX-260. Several CWT 1000W units certified for three way GTX-260 and two way GTX-280.

    I don't see where two cards "require" a 1200W PSU.

Similar Threads

  1. In Win Commander II 1200W
    By Jon Gerow in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 08-14-2011, 08:13 AM
  2. Coolmax 1200w vs others...
    By Jungles39 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 03:51 PM
  3. Who needs 1200W?
    By Pixel Eater in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-15-2007, 07:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •