Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Older AT style supply

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Older AT style supply

    Anybody know where I can still purchase an older AT style supply with the attached power switch? Does anybody still make these?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,505
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    149
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    eBay?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,590
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    if you have a compUSA in your town, they might have one.
    Rig 1: Phenom II X2 550-Asus M5A78L-MLX--2x4 Patriot DDR3 1333--Asus Formula HD4770--Enermax Triathlor 450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 10 x64
    Rig 2: Core i3 6300--Asrock Z170M Extreme4--2x8 Adata DDR4 2400--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair CX500M--Corsair Hydro H55--Windows 7 x64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I appreciate the responses. I probably should have been more clear in my first post.

    These need to be new units. They are not for personal use, but rather for a very specific work application. I also needed to buy a bunch of them.

    I managed to find a 230W StarTech supply being sold still by many e-tailers such as buy.com, CDW, newegg...

    I have no idea who the OEM is, but beggars can't be choosers I suppose.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    684
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    20
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Dumpster diving is always a good way too.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    678
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smithkt View Post
    I have no idea who the OEM is
    The OEM is ATNG

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    A64 3200+ @ 2.2GHz
    512MB PC3200 Kington Value Ram BH-5 @ 220Mhz
    GA-K8NF-9-Rev. 1x
    Gigabyte 7300GS

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    182
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    What do you need a bunch of new AT PSUs for?

    If its just for the ability to power the unit on without the need for a motherboard you can do that with an ATX PSU as well. Just a matter of modding them a bit.
    SYSTEM:
    | Opti 165 @ 2.9Ghz 322 FSB 9X Multi. 1292 HTT | DFI Infinity NF4 SLI | 7900GS @ 580/690 |
    | 2 x 1Gb Muskin DDR500 @ 512Mhz 3-3-2-7 | Corsair VX550W |
    COOLING:
    | CM Eclipse | VF-900 | Antec 900 |

    XATE-984 Load Tester Build

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mpilchfamily View Post
    What do you need a bunch of new AT PSUs for?

    If its just for the ability to power the unit on without the need for a motherboard you can do that with an ATX PSU as well. Just a matter of modding them a bit.
    The company I work for designed one of it's instruments using an AT supply. We have since updated the design to support a standard ATX supply, however, we have one customer that has a unique requirement that is more easily supported using the AT supplies. It has more to do with the fact that the AC source voltage is available outside the supply without requiring us to open them up and mod them. It's simply a matter of convenience. Nothing more.

    The entire instrument is being redesigned and this is just a stop gap.

    As I mentioned in a prior post, I did find the supplies I was looking for. I do appreciate the response though.

Similar Threads

  1. New build; use older PSU or get a new...?
    By jonitten in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-10-2017, 06:56 AM
  2. Firefly... 80's Style
    By Oklahoma Wolf in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 12:57 PM
  3. Which PSU for older computer?
    By sjfeinbe in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 09:42 PM
  4. power supply for older computer
    By doesntplaywell in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 05:10 PM
  5. New System on an older PSU
    By 3246251196 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-30-2007, 04:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •