Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Silverstone Zeus 750W not enough for my rig (with overclock)?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    115
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Silverstone Zeus 750W not enough for my rig (with overclock)?

    I have been having this system running for about a year at slightly over default speeds (capped by 4 ram banks).
    Now that I'm replacing my ram with two 2gb sticks (gskill 8500), I decided to push my c2d at what it's capable of (that is 3600-3700 on air).

    Prior to raising clocks, I ran a series of tests and measured voltages to be sure that everything is allright and that I wont have bad surprises. I upped some voltages in the bios (cpu and ram) to prepare for some overclock in windows.

    I noticed that the voltages are a bit on the low side. In particular,
    +12V is only at 11.46 (lowest was 11.33 during OCCT stress test). I dont like this a bit.
    +5V is 4.80 and thats much more stable. Fluctuations are very low with regular usage, but I still dont like it.

    I suspect that the cause of this is the stupid multi-rail for the 12V. I'm thinking of replacing the psu with PCP&C 1kw. IIRC the 750 is not built internally, and its quality is more average.

    Other suggestions are welcome. I dont care a s*it for noise, but I want the voltages rock solid and room for my next update this fall (4+gig, SLI on skulltrail or 790i).

    The current full setup is the following:
    | CPU: E6600 | Cooling: Enzotech Ultra-X (CPU), Swiftec MCX159-CU (NB), 14cm fan (RAM)
    | Motherboard: DFI 965-S | RAM: 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix pc2-8000 | Video: Evga GeForce 8800GTX OK ACS3
    | Storage: Controller: LSI Megaraid 320-2E 128MB | 3x Fujitsu MAU 146 GB 15k raid0 + Samsung F1 1TB + WD GP 1TB
    | LAN: Bigfoot Killer K1 network card | Audio: Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Fatal1ty Pro - Sennheiser HD595 hearphones
    | Case: Lian-Li PC 78 | | PSU: Silverstone Zeus 750W Display: LaCie 22" Electron BlueIV CRT
    | OS: Vista x64 / Server 2003 dual boot
    Last edited by Telstar; 04-06-2008 at 11:00 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    How did you measured voltages? DMM or software?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    585
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Let me guess, you based your cosideration & concern over ITE SmartGuardian readings, correct ? Well, let me tell u as ex P965-S Dark user, it SUX big balls, highly innacurate, since DFI probe sensors are just relatively dumber compared to other MoBos design.

    My Toughpower 700w was read as 11.78v, 4.81v, and 3.28v by ITE, is read 12.06v, 5.07v, and 3.31v by abit uGuru, while DMM probing shows 12.08v, 5.05v, and 3.35v out of that particular unit. So, what gives ?

    And judging from my long & intimate relationship with DFI MoBos -i've used both DFI NF2 Ultra sistas, LanParty NF3 250 Gb, Infinity NF UltraII M2, and finally Infinity P965-S Dark before making a switch to abit, they're all SUX in term of on board probe sensors reading accuracy, especially in the 12v rail reading, that's it.
    Intel C2D E8400 @4.2 GHz 495x8.5
    DFI LanParty LT X38-T2R
    DIY Watercooling
    Adata Vitesta Extreme PC6400 4 GB kit *2 @DDR2 990 5-5-5-15
    HIS HD 4870 512 MB @830-1080
    WDC 3200AAKS *2 (RAID 0) + WDC 5000AACS
    DVDRW BenQ DW2000 + DVDRW LG GH20NS10
    Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Creative Inspire T6600 6.1
    Silverstone Olympia 750w
    TT Kandalf (original)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    115
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Software. Measured with HW Monitor, since Everest and Speefan do not get voltages right with my mainboard.

    Do you think I'm overconcerned?
    Its mostly because the 12v that DROPS from 11.46 at idle light activity (already low but that can be sensors inaccuracy) to 11.33 full load. And without overclock.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    585
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You don't use ITE SmartGuardian, the official monitoring software from DFI board CD ? Because i can only get a rather believable reading which makes sense out of the 12v rail from that official software, anything else would show a weird reading out of it. SpeedFan, HW Monitor, Everest, you name it.

    For a serious decision making consideration, use DMM to judge your PSU rail voltage level, at the very least. Especially if you don't experience any instability symptom when your system is pushed to the edge -run Orthos Blend, ATiTool 3D Viewer Artifact Finder, HDD Defrag, and ODD to ODD copying simultaneously.
    Intel C2D E8400 @4.2 GHz 495x8.5
    DFI LanParty LT X38-T2R
    DIY Watercooling
    Adata Vitesta Extreme PC6400 4 GB kit *2 @DDR2 990 5-5-5-15
    HIS HD 4870 512 MB @830-1080
    WDC 3200AAKS *2 (RAID 0) + WDC 5000AACS
    DVDRW BenQ DW2000 + DVDRW LG GH20NS10
    Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Creative Inspire T6600 6.1
    Silverstone Olympia 750w
    TT Kandalf (original)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    115
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I used it in the past. I find HW monitor very good and no install, works on vista64.
    I'll get ITE Smartguardian from dfi website and see if there are any differences.

    I do not experience any instability (since the faulty ballistix kit went away). i have played real games and used OCCT, memtest and all kind of HD tools. I can do more tests but i think it's a waste of time, before overclocking, that is.

    Do you think that is normal a 0.13V drop on the +12V line under full load? This is basically my main concern.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    585
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    With ITE SM, my 12v rail was 11.78 @idle, 11.55v with Orthos Blend + ATiTool 3D Viewer, while the reading on DMM at the EPS 12v socket showed 12.08v idle, 12.01v with that load. ITE SM showed a very bad Vdroop on 12v rail, DMM didn't, system was totally stable, what would have the conclusion been then ?
    Intel C2D E8400 @4.2 GHz 495x8.5
    DFI LanParty LT X38-T2R
    DIY Watercooling
    Adata Vitesta Extreme PC6400 4 GB kit *2 @DDR2 990 5-5-5-15
    HIS HD 4870 512 MB @830-1080
    WDC 3200AAKS *2 (RAID 0) + WDC 5000AACS
    DVDRW BenQ DW2000 + DVDRW LG GH20NS10
    Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Creative Inspire T6600 6.1
    Silverstone Olympia 750w
    TT Kandalf (original)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    115
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    OK, installed SmartGuardian. 12V and 5V values are more sound: 11.71 and 4.96 respectively. Ran OCCT for half an hour, the 12V didnt drop a single bit, while the 5V just a few millivolts.
    I dont have a DMM, but I think the software values may be approximated on the low side.

    What can I assume? I think I can safely overclock, and that I'll never buy a psu with more than one 12V rail. I'm pretty sure my scsi disks and geforce are putting some stress that is way much more the one of the cpu.

    [Edit: typo]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    585
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    ......and that I'll never buy a psu with more than one 12V rail......
    I don't think that conclusion would be commended here.

    Why don't you take a look at this thread by jonny himself, should clear some misconceptions you have at the moment.

    Single vs. Multiple +12V rails: The splitting of the +12V rail

    And i really don't think that Zeus 750w of yours is having a hardtime powering your rig right now, that unit is highly regarded in this community, from pure performance perspective.
    Intel C2D E8400 @4.2 GHz 495x8.5
    DFI LanParty LT X38-T2R
    DIY Watercooling
    Adata Vitesta Extreme PC6400 4 GB kit *2 @DDR2 990 5-5-5-15
    HIS HD 4870 512 MB @830-1080
    WDC 3200AAKS *2 (RAID 0) + WDC 5000AACS
    DVDRW BenQ DW2000 + DVDRW LG GH20NS10
    Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Creative Inspire T6600 6.1
    Silverstone Olympia 750w
    TT Kandalf (original)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,498
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    499
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    39
    Thanked in
    31 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Telstar View Post
    I suspect that the cause of this is the stupid multi-rail for the 12V. I'm thinking of replacing the psu with PCP&C 1kw. IIRC the 750 is not built internally, and its quality is more average.
    Pretty out-of-the-blue suspicion since splitting the +12V rails wouldn't cause this. If you were exceeding the capability of the split +12V rail, the PSU would shut down. Please do read the FAQ that spurs linked for a better understanding.

    I think you're being overly cautious since you're basing you assumptions on poor voltage regulation on software. No software is accurate since they ALL get their readings from the same chip on the board. They just give different readings because they use different algorithms to derive the voltages they display.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with Silverstone Zeus 750w
    By spursindonesia in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2008, 08:39 AM
  2. FSP Everest 800W good compare to TT ToughPower 750w or Zeus 750W?
    By malvindo in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-16-2008, 04:50 AM
  3. silverstone zeus 750 buzzing
    By survivor in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 06-06-2007, 02:53 PM
  4. Silverstone Zeus 750W vs. Corsair 620W
    By chomi15 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-26-2007, 01:24 PM
  5. I got a Silverstone Zeus 750w.
    By Adamantine in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-14-2006, 04:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •