Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: wierd psu error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    20
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default wierd psu error

    ok my pc is having serious problem and i took it to a pc repair store in my country.
    as my country is pretty far behind on technology i usally dont trust this guys much but, i just couldnt figure out what the problem with my pc was.

    so, when i go again to see what the diagnostic was they told me that it was my psu. he showed me what was wrong by connecting it to a psu tester. it infact indicated that there was no response from the -5v indicator.

    so i check the psu and i see there is no -5v rail on it. so i just have to wonder is it that newer psu's just dont have that rail and my psu is perfect ( my pc turns on it just doesnt post)or, is that the guy who diagnosed my pc is completly ignorant??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yep, in ATX12V v2.x standard they remove -5V line.
    What PSU and MB do you have?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Can we have a description of your system -peripherals used in that rig of yours ?
    Intel C2D E8400 @4.2 GHz 495x8.5
    DFI LanParty LT X38-T2R
    DIY Watercooling
    Adata Vitesta Extreme PC6400 4 GB kit *2 @DDR2 990 5-5-5-15
    HIS HD 4870 512 MB @830-1080
    WDC 3200AAKS *2 (RAID 0) + WDC 5000AACS
    DVDRW BenQ DW2000 + DVDRW LG GH20NS10
    Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Creative Inspire T6600 6.1
    Silverstone Olympia 750w
    TT Kandalf (original)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,210
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    544
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    309
    Thanked in
    224 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bandit View Post
    he showed me what was wrong by connecting it to a psu tester. it infact indicated that there was no response from the -5v indicator.
    HAHAHA!!!!

    Sorry.....

    Most PSU's don't have a -5V. If someone is working on computers for a living, they should know this.

    The worst thing that could happen if you were to have an older PC, like a Socket A or something, and no -5V is your on board sound wouldn't work.

    Seriously, I've been seeing -5V ommited since 1999 and even back then the only time I would have a problem was with this particular MSI board's on board sound. Had the same problem with some HP's, etc. but I think they were all also using MSI boards.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    20
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    ok that great thanks guys.
    this is my system.

    psu silverstone op750
    mobo asus a8r-mvp
    cpu amd fx60
    gpu 8800 gts g92
    ram 4x512 ddr400


    the problem with my pc is the following. it powers on but it never gets into bios and it doesnt display video, then i get the following beepcode 1 long beep followed by 3 short ones.

    i did several tests and i concluded it was the gpu that was broken by swapping parts. i installed a friend's ati x1900xtx and it seemed to work fine, then i tried my gpu on his pc and it didnt work. the rest of the parts worked perfectly on both pc's so i guess its a no brainer.

    however, i was told by asus support that the beepcode indicated ram error but the test i described seems pretty clear to me.

    i bought this gpu becuase my old pne was also broken, curiosly the new one was also dead since it arrived ( never worked ) this inclined me to think it was something else. but i have little to no doubt it is infact the gpu.

    any opinions or suggestions before i go out and get a new gpu.
    btw i cant get an rma.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    A shoot in the dark. Maybe it's a incompatibility between GPU's PCI-E 2.0 and MB's PCI-E 1.0, or MB's chipset.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    20
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    are thre any cases of this??? never heard of such a problem before.
    BTW my frineds mobo is an asus crosshair.
    Last edited by bandit; 04-02-2008 at 02:58 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    The Big Apple
    Posts
    53
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bandit View Post
    btw i cant get an rma.
    Why not? Who made your video card? eVGA, BFG? These cards are supposed to be under warranty. Also, if you just bought it, return it to the store for another unit, is that possible?

    As far as the GPU being PCI-e 2.0 and mobo is 1.0 that shouldn't be an issue, PCI-e is backwards compatible. I have have Gigabyte PCI-e 1.0 mobo and an 8800 G92 PCI-e 2.0 and they work fine.

    BTW, did you try clearing CMOS? PC powering on but no video issue can be solved by clearing CMOS.
    Athlon 64 FX-62 w/Zalman 9500
    GA-M59SLI-S5
    2 GB of Mushkin XP2-6400
    BFG 8800 GTS 512
    WD Rapror 150 GB
    Seagate Barracuda 320 GB
    PC P&C Silencer Quad 750W
    Silverstone TJ-09BW

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bandit View Post
    are thre any cases of this???
    Sure. Take a look at ABIT for example. Here is another thread. And I'm sure there are plenty of other threads on mighty Internet.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,333
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I avoid PNY whenever I can, especially after the crap quality of the 6800 series of cards (caps fell off). They were also involved in a bad caps fiasco with their 5200 series. The worst part is, they are not significantly cheaper than the other cards.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-2018, 04:11 PM
  2. Wierd brightness issue.
    By Silk_the_Absent1 in forum GPU Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-14-2009, 11:01 PM
  3. Wierd Problem
    By lolhalol in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-14-2007, 02:01 PM
  4. Error
    By Kab in forum Site Suggestions & Forum Issues
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-04-2007, 11:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •