Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: New to computer building

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    122
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cypherpunks View Post
    Yeah, but you don't have a 512 MB graphics card, do you? Windows has to allocate address space for all the PCI peripherals, including the graphics card, into its 4 GB physical address space, and conflicts with the BIOS mean that a graphics card can't take the highest 1/2 GB, so it has to take the 3–3.5 GB range. RAM can fill up whatever's left over.
    IIRC, AGP had the address range restriction, while PCI-E handles the situation more gracefully. That could account for farfromhome's result.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    446
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by farfromhome View Post
    Yes I do, a G92 8800 GTS 512MB to be exact. As well as an Audigy 2 ZS as well as what's integrated onto the motherboard (Ethernet, extra HDD controller, etc...). And yet, I still have 3.5 GB of usable memory left. Not that it has changed from when I used to have a 256MB card; it was exactly the same when I had my old 7800 GT. I've heard what you've said from other sources too, but that seems not to be borne out in practice. There must be more going on than that, or some way around it that Windows is using.
    Huh. Color me confused. Maybe they've given up on mapping video RAM into the PCI address space entirely? Just indirect all access through the board's on-board DMA.

    I'd ask for "lspci -vv" output to see what's going on, but I don't know the Windows equivalent.

    Ah! Found it. Device Manager, select device, open Properties, select "Resources" tab. What address space is it using?

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    -
    Posts
    39
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cypherpunks View Post
    I'd ask for "lspci -vv" output to see what's going on, but I don't know the Windows equivalent.
    I have Linux too; maybe I'll reboot and see sometime tomorrow.

    Quote Originally Posted by cypherpunks View Post
    Ah! Found it. Device Manager, select device, open Properties, select "Resources" tab. What address space is it using?
    You mean the graphics card? It says "[000A0000-000BFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB" for memory, which is what I assume you want (there's also IRQ, IO, and DMA in the Resources tab).

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I should be fine on vista 32 bit with 2 gb's of 800mhz ram right? That is, if i decide to pick up vista. Still hearing there are a good amount of problems with it so I'm not sure yet. And also say I want to run 4 gb's of ram. I can do either the 2x 2gb sticks of ram or 4x 1gb sticks of ram correct? No difference I'd imagine

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    446
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by farfromhome View Post
    You mean the graphics card? It says "[000A0000-000BFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB" for memory, which is what I assume you want (there's also IRQ, IO, and DMA in the Resources tab).
    You mean that's all? No other memory regions in the list? Not even one for memory-mapped control registers?

    I expect at least three: one in the usual VGA frame buffer location (as you saw), a control register region, and a large region for the frame buffer itself.

    Sorry to doubt you, but are you quite sure you didn't miss something?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    446
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vitaminx View Post
    I should be fine on vista 32 bit with 2 gb's of 800mhz ram right? That is, if i decide to pick up vista. Still hearing there are a good amount of problems with it so I'm not sure yet. And also say I want to run 4 gb's of ram. I can do either the 2x 2gb sticks of ram or 4x 1gb sticks of ram correct? No difference I'd imagine
    Yes, Vista will be fine with 2G; it's not THAT big a hog.

    There is a minor difference: having two sticks on each channel generally requires running at a 2T command rate rather than 1T, which slightly slows down memory access. And, of course, you can upgrade to 8G...

    But as you noted that 2x 1G price is hard to turn down.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    -
    Posts
    39
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cypherpunks View Post
    Sorry to doubt you, but are you quite sure you didn't miss something?
    You're right; I was tired, and did miss the other lines. I just wrote down the first line that I saw the 8800 GTS 512MB, and didn't think to look for more. Here are all of them:

    [000A0000-000BFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
    [E0000000-EFFFFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
    [F4000000-F5FFFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
    [F6000000-F6FFFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm just posting this in case there is anything wrong with the parts I listed like compatibility issues. Does anyone see any issues here? Or am I good to go.

    Case - COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119137

    Hard Drive - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822136074

    Power Supply - PC Power & Cooling S610EPS EPS12V 610W Continuous @ 40°C Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, cUL, CE, CB, TUV
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703005

    Video Card - EVGA 512-P3-N841-AR GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130325

    Processor - Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115029

    Memory - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820145034

    Motherboard - ASUS P5E LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813131219

    CD/DVD Burner - SAMSUNG Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe
    http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16827151154

    By the way, is Vista Service Pack 1 out?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    446
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by farfromhome View Post
    You're right; I was tired, and did miss the other lines. I just wrote down the first line that I saw the 8800 GTS 512MB, and didn't think to look for more. Here are all of them:

    [000A0000-000BFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
    [E0000000-EFFFFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
    [F4000000-F5FFFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
    [F6000000-F6FFFFFF] NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
    That's more like it. 256 MB + 16 MB + 16 MB is more reasonable for a video card. I guess nVidia decided to do something fancy to avoid using too much address space.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    446
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vitaminx View Post
    I'm just posting this in case there is anything wrong with the parts I listed like compatibility issues. Does anyone see any issues here? Or am I good to go.
    No compatibility issues, but I would still seriously look at 4 GB of RAM. Since I wrote my comments above, I've poked around a bit and found multiple claims that it makes a noticeable difference. One fellow in an ars techica thread on updating their system guides even called it a "minimum".

    4 GB of PC2-6400 CAS4 for $105 w/ $15 rebate? Why not?

    Don't forget to add whatever odds & ends you don't have in your junk drawer already to the order to save on shipping. Extra case fans, thermal goop, ethernet cables, or whatever. (The Scythe S-flex are great 120 mm fans. Even the -F is quiet enough for many people, and the -E is effectively silent unless you're a princess and pea type.)

Similar Threads

  1. Building a new PC
    By unfail in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-27-2018, 07:39 AM
  2. I am building my first pc and need to get a psu that will last long.
    By remaggamer1 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-18-2017, 02:39 PM
  3. Building my own computer. (CPU question.)?
    By jeckunion1980 in forum GPU Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-24-2014, 03:00 PM
  4. thinking of building my 1st pc
    By rovopio in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2014, 06:09 AM
  5. Building 2nd computer: Upgrade main PSU or not?
    By TheAMAZINGNorad in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 03:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •