Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: New to computer building

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cypherpunks View Post
    Just for example, not going quite that far, try:

    and the other components you were thinking of
    • $34 CD-rom,
    • $120 500 GB drive (you could save a few bucks there, but I'm assuming you have a porn collection reason to need the capacity),
    • $86 Windows XP, and
    • $80 Case,
    and you're looking at $1005 ($975 after rebate), for a kick-ass system. full of high-end components. You could shave the cost more, but that's still a box that any gamer would be proud to own. You can get an aftermarket cooler if you want to play with overclocking. (And notice I bumped you to 4 GB RAM; it's so cheap there's no reason not to.)
    What do you suggest as a hard drive. I chose the 500 gb seagate because it seemed like a good bang for ur buck. Really the only brands I was told were good was western digital and seagate. And when I say good i mean fast and stable. You sure I should get 4 gb's of RAM? I heard XP only recognizes like 2.8 gbs of it so. Could be wrong though.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by signmeuptoo View Post
    PS is fine but might be louder than others, right guys?
    I thought PC Power and Cooling was a tier 1 psu from what I read. http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=108088

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Oh hey should I get

    Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 2.66GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Dual-Core Processor
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115038

    instead of the E6750?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Should I buy a case where the power supply slot is on the bottom or top? I've heard mixed things about the placement of the power supply on the bottom. What do you guys think?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bucharest, Romania
    Posts
    495
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The E8200 is better than E6750.
    If you decide to get a case with the PSU at the bottom, it would be best to have a separate chamber for it. Even if it doesn't have a separate chamber, from what I recall from high school physics, hot air goes up, thus away from the PSU.

    But I'm no expert, I have a classic PSU with the case with the PSU at the top

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    What about this one? Someone recommended it. Never heard of Xeon though.

    Intel BX80570E3110 Xeon E3110 3.00GHz 1333MHz FSB 6MB L2 Cache LGA775 Retail
    http://www.excaliberpc.com/Intel_BX8...id-584805.html

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    446
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vitaminx View Post
    What do you suggest as a hard drive. I chose the 500 GB Seagate because it seemed like a good bang for your buck. Really the only brands I was told were good was western digital and seagate. And when I say good, I mean fast and stable. Are you sure I should get 4 GBs of RAM? I heard XP only recognizes like 2.8 GBs of it or so. Could be wrong though.
    Oh, it's a perfectly decent hard drive, and Seagate is a good brand; you could just save a few bucks by getting a smaller one, like 320 GB.

    Indeed, XP can only use 3 GB or thereabouts, so 1/4 of it is simply wasted until you get a 64-bit OS, but the extra GB is still worth the $20. Oh, wait... the 2x1 GB is on sale now for $67 plus a $32 mail-in rebate... that makes it a lot more dubious.

    Oh hey should I get Intel Core 2 Duo E8200
    That is a faster processor. WoW isn't going to notice it, though.

    What about Intel Xeon 3110? Someone recommended it. Never heard of Xeon though.
    Xeon is Intel's "server" brand name. They're just fine, just generally more expensive. For the past few years, Intel have been using a different socket (771) for its SMP-capable "Xeon" processors because that lets them charge more. But it turns out that a Xeon 3110 is a 775-pin Core 2 Duo E8400. They're just selling them for a bit more money and hoping some people used to buying Xeons for servers won't notice. (It's actually more complicated that that, having to do with the entire distribution chain and VARs, but I won't go into it here.)

    But the advantage in this case is that some vendors have the Xeon version in stock, while the E8400 is sold out everywhere and people who have them are charging what the market will bear. So folks who know about the E3110 detour can save a few bucks until the E8400 comes down from the stratosphere.

    It's an awesome processor, outstripping anything in the E6xxx line.
    Slickdeals.net has an ongoing discussion of sources:

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    -
    Posts
    39
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cypherpunks View Post
    Indeed, XP can only use 3 GB or thereabouts, so 1/4 of it is simply wasted until you get a 64-bit OS, but the extra GB is still worth the $20. Oh, wait... the 2x1 GB is on sale now for $67 plus a $32 mail-in rebate... that makes it a lot more dubious.
    On my computer at least, 32-bit XP can see 3.5 GB. So it's only 1/8 that's wasted (and only on 32-bit operating systems), and with RAM so cheap, no reason to get less.


  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    446
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by farfromhome View Post
    On my computer at least, 32-bit XP can see 3.5 GB.
    Yeah, but you don't have a 512 MB graphics card, do you? Windows has to allocate address space for all the PCI peripherals, including the graphics card, into its 4 GB physical address space, and conflicts with the BIOS mean that a graphics card can't take the highest 1/2 GB, so it has to take the 3–3.5 GB range. RAM can fill up whatever's left over.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    -
    Posts
    39
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cypherpunks View Post
    Yeah, but you don't have a 512 MB graphics card, do you? Windows has to allocate address space for all the PCI peripherals, including the graphics card, into its 4 GB physical address space, and conflicts with the BIOS mean that a graphics card can't take the highest 1/2 GB, so it has to take the 3–3.5 GB range. RAM can fill up whatever's left over.
    Yes I do, a G92 8800 GTS 512MB to be exact. As well as an Audigy 2 ZS as well as what's integrated onto the motherboard (Ethernet, extra HDD controller, etc...). And yet, I still have 3.5 GB of usable memory left. Not that it has changed from when I used to have a 256MB card; it was exactly the same when I had my old 7800 GT. I've heard what you've said from other sources too, but that seems not to be bourne out in practice. There must be more going on than that, or some way around it that Windows is using.

Similar Threads

  1. Building a new PC
    By unfail in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-27-2018, 07:39 AM
  2. I am building my first pc and need to get a psu that will last long.
    By remaggamer1 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-18-2017, 02:39 PM
  3. Building my own computer. (CPU question.)?
    By jeckunion1980 in forum GPU Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-24-2014, 03:00 PM
  4. thinking of building my 1st pc
    By rovopio in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2014, 06:09 AM
  5. Building 2nd computer: Upgrade main PSU or not?
    By TheAMAZINGNorad in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 03:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •