Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: ZALMAN Zalman ZM600-HP 600W

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default ZALMAN Zalman ZM600-HP 600W

    Helllo...

    I just bought this PSU, cause my old one was a bit noisy.

    It's pretty silent, i have to admit that, but i have a problem (?) ...

    As i read the Jonny's review on this PSU, i was impressed on the +12 voltage rails.

    It is supposed to give ~about 12.43 V , but mine seem to give only 11.66 V

    _____-_____-_____-____-

    it's stable anyway, but i wonder why is this happening???

    the old enermax i had,(the noisy one), had much better results...



    ps (i'm using ''everest ultimate edition'' to watch these voltages)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,502
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    148
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by liopyr View Post
    ps (i'm using ''everest ultimate edition'' to watch these voltages)
    Use a multimeter instead

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    İstanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    391
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You cannot trust software readings for things like that. If I had to believe a previous version of a known (and good) diagnostic/benchmark software my PSU had a 20V rail instead of a 12V. The last version of the software now returns correct values but this is just one example of why you should rather use a multimeter.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i will buy a multimeter, just to know for sure.

    I can't understand though, why this software likes to show good voltages for my old enermax, and sabotage zalman...
    Psu: Zalman ZM600-HP 600W / Motherboard: Gigabyte GA 965P S3 (rev. 3.3) / Cpu:E4300 1.8Ghz @3.0Ghz (Chythe Ninja Plus Rev.B cooled) /
    Ram:2Gb (667 dual channel) / Vga: 8800GTS 320Mb @630/1100

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Aus
    Posts
    67
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by liopyr View Post
    It is supposed to give ~about 12.43 V , but mine seem to give only 11.66 V
    Isn't it ideally supposed to give 12.0V?

    PS: You have a typo in your sig.
    e8400 @ 4.2Ghz | TRUE Black | 8GB OCZ Platinum 1066mhz | 512MB 8800GT @ 700/1750/1900 | 380W Antec NeoHE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i just found at zalman's website that the regulation voltage on this psu can be :

    ±5% +11.4V~+12.6V (on every +12 rail),

    so i suppose i'm just unlucky...


    (sig corrected, thanx)
    Psu: Zalman ZM600-HP 600W / Motherboard: Gigabyte GA 965P S3 (rev. 3.3) / Cpu:E4300 1.8Ghz @3.0Ghz (Chythe Ninja Plus Rev.B cooled) /
    Ram:2Gb (667 dual channel) / Vga: 8800GTS 320Mb @630/1100

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    39
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    5% is within spec. But why are you pouting over SOFTWARE readouts, they don't mean anything.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i'm don't point at +-5% part... i point at +11.4V

    however i'll try a multimeter...
    Psu: Zalman ZM600-HP 600W / Motherboard: Gigabyte GA 965P S3 (rev. 3.3) / Cpu:E4300 1.8Ghz @3.0Ghz (Chythe Ninja Plus Rev.B cooled) /
    Ram:2Gb (667 dual channel) / Vga: 8800GTS 320Mb @630/1100

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    509
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    liopyr,

    I had a similar situation happen just a little while back, and after using the multimeter it was easy to see just how far off the software readings can be.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    with the same software/psu?

    when i'll find a polymeter i'll post the (true) results....
    Psu: Zalman ZM600-HP 600W / Motherboard: Gigabyte GA 965P S3 (rev. 3.3) / Cpu:E4300 1.8Ghz @3.0Ghz (Chythe Ninja Plus Rev.B cooled) /
    Ram:2Gb (667 dual channel) / Vga: 8800GTS 320Mb @630/1100

Similar Threads

  1. Zalman ZM600-TX
    By CrapXon in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-21-2016, 12:09 PM
  2. Zalman ZM600-HP 600W Modular PSU Review
    By SKYMTL in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-12-2006, 09:25 AM
  3. One more Zalman ZM600-HP
    By CAD4466HK in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-30-2006, 04:41 PM
  4. Zalman ZM600-HP
    By Jon Gerow in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-23-2006, 04:51 PM
  5. Zalman ZM600-HP
    By Oklahoma Wolf in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-23-2006, 10:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •