Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help on wiring 12v psu to 24v

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Help on wiring 12v psu to 24v

    I read that you can add 24 volt lead with the blue & yellow wire.... Need to know for sure, and will this chance harming any thing, CPU, Mobo, PSU, whatever....i don't have room for a dedicated power supply for the TEC - the Mean Well 600W Aux PSU... My PSU Thermaltake Toughpower W0132RU ATX12V / EPS12V 1000W Power Supply. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    182
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The Blue wire is for -12. I don't see how combining them would give you 24V. Even if it did you would probably blow the PSU trying that mod.

    Does the TEC not come with its own power cable and power brick?
    SYSTEM:
    | Opti 165 @ 2.9Ghz 322 FSB 9X Multi. 1292 HTT | DFI Infinity NF4 SLI | 7900GS @ 580/690 |
    | 2 x 1Gb Muskin DDR500 @ 512Mhz 3-3-2-7 | Corsair VX550W |
    COOLING:
    | CM Eclipse | VF-900 | Antec 900 |

    XATE-984 Load Tester Build

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    149
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Current capacity drops to usually less than 1A (whatever the capacity of the -12V is) in using the -12V to get 24A - utterly useless for your purposes. Meanwell or some other dedicated supply is the only way you're going to get 24V for a TEC.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    182
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've never understood the purpose of the -12V rail. How is the -12V different from the ground?
    SYSTEM:
    | Opti 165 @ 2.9Ghz 322 FSB 9X Multi. 1292 HTT | DFI Infinity NF4 SLI | 7900GS @ 580/690 |
    | 2 x 1Gb Muskin DDR500 @ 512Mhz 3-3-2-7 | Corsair VX550W |
    COOLING:
    | CM Eclipse | VF-900 | Antec 900 |

    XATE-984 Load Tester Build

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    149
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    IIRC that rail is for old serial port use - not sure why it's still there. It's not a ground because it supplies 12V at the opposite polarity from the normal 12V rails

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for your help… Your right, I would not achieve the full capacity of the TEC with this set up.. Frozencpu.com shouldn’t tell us we can use a 1000w PSU like this and not give all the facts. Once more thanks for the help…

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Michigan,USA
    Posts
    125
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    What, did you by this TEC?
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/65...9_940_AM2.html

    Also you can't blame Frozen CPU because you didn't do your own research first :<

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    NO… I didn’t buy the TEC, Not only do I research products to death, I also download the pdf manual.

    My point is… frozencpu says you can use the 1000w psu, but they don’t tell you the TEC would be downgraded.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,590
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    [H]enthusiast didn't encounter any problems, other than a lot of condensation. IMO, if you want to run the TEC, you need to make room for the auxiliary PSU.
    Rig 1: Phenom II X2 550-Asus M5A78L-MLX--2x4 Patriot DDR3 1333--Asus Formula HD4770--Enermax Triathlor 450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 10 x64
    Rig 2: Core i3 6300--Asrock Z170M Extreme4--2x8 Adata DDR4 2400--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair CX500M--Corsair Hydro H55--Windows 7 x64

Similar Threads

  1. RM1000i Wiring
    By Virgule in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2017, 08:09 PM
  2. PSU internal mains wiring
    By B Ogbrush in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2015, 11:34 AM
  3. Wiring pin out
    By kimandsally in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2014, 12:40 PM
  4. Help wiring a fan
    By TBJ in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2011, 03:11 AM
  5. fan wiring
    By doesntplaywell in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2008, 01:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •