Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: help, website settings...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default help, website settings...

    I can't get this site to work from my pc, I have messed around with security settings, and all that, yet it works from my works pc, albeit slowly...

    any ideas? thanks

    http://www.motherboards.org/ranking/...oard-rank.html
    " the difference between a pro and an amateur is a pro can do on it on a bad day,an amateur can't on a good one"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    In yer 'fridge, eatin' yer pizza
    Posts
    1,785
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Odd, works from here like a charm. Try flushing your DNS cache. Run -> CMD-> ipconfig /flushdns.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    hmm, thanks matt,

    tried that, still no joy...I had it working b4, no idea what's happened, all my settings seem the same...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    In yer 'fridge, eatin' yer pizza
    Posts
    1,785
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    What browser?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    using both ie6 and firefox, both can't find it.

    strange eh?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    İstanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    391
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Without knowing what security products and what OS it's rather difficult to guess. Did you look at your hosts file ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    win xp media centre 32 bit, similar to pro.

    still can't get it to work, turned off the firewall and then back on. its defo. some settings, I am sure, if others can get it to work. Its all pretty much default settings, so no idea where to look or what could be wrong. I even allowed all cookies, etc.

    If its any clue, I click on the link above, and it doesn't come up in the explorer bar.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    İstanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    391
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    win xp media centre 32 bit, similar to pro.
    I know XP MCE.

    still can't get it to work, turned off the firewall and then back on. its defo. some settings, I am sure, if others can get it to work. Its all pretty much default settings, so no idea where to look or what could be wrong. I even allowed all cookies, etc.
    And the HOSTS file ? You should find it in Windows/system32/drivers/etc folder. You can open it with notepad (note if there is a hosts.sam it is not the one you're looking for, it will be the one without any extension). Go to command line and ping :
    ping www.motherboards.org
    Note the IP address.

    If its any clue, I click on the link above, and it doesn't come up in the explorer bar.
    What happens if you manually type it ?
    What happens if you click it on the link below ?
    http://64.182.113.168

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    nope, not if I manually type, nor the numbers, in both IE and firefox, still doesn't want to work

    found the hosts file, but not quite sure what you mean by ping it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    İstanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    391
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    not ping the hosts file.
    Start the command prompt (start--->type cmd hit enter
    Then type
    ping www.motherboards.org
    hit enter
    Look at the IP address in the command window.

Similar Threads

  1. Ridiculous PSU Gambling Website
    By TheStoka in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2 Weeks Ago, 12:38 AM
  2. PC Freezes when I change the fan controller settings?
    By UTL in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-13-2015, 02:47 AM
  3. Scope settings for PSU testing?
    By Siorus in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 01-19-2013, 03:39 AM
  4. Not logged in when coming from the website
    By Lemmy in forum Site Suggestions & Forum Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 09:04 AM
  5. can ai suite invoke user defined settings for vcore?
    By graysky in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2007, 06:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •