Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Quad-Core cometh

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Arrow Quad-Core cometh

    Is 4 really better then 2?
    Not in games anyways, but what do I know? I only have 1
    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/200..._qx6700/1.html
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    230
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I say, the more cores the better. Hell, if Win XP supported it I'd probably be running a quad socket right now...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    679
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yay, my hardware is being made obsolete faster than ever!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bbq View Post
    Yay, my hardware is being made obsolete faster than ever!

    I feel your pain
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It would be nice. For those of us who use the computer for encoding as much as gaming, the only problem is the pricetag!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    central Texas
    Posts
    37
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    One thing I loved about my dual Xeon rig, was that I could render a scene in 3dsmax on one processor, and play Guild Wars on the other. Or play GW, and leave the other logical cores for crunching SIMAP...

    Quad core = proof more people need to run DC programs!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The developers of Half Life 2 were recently interviewed on their opinions of the impact of quad core on gaming, and they stated they have already begun moving their game development to a quad-core focus.....1 for controls, 1 for rendering, 1 for AI, 1 for physics/audio. They gave a demonstration whereby 1 AI model interacts with the world around it, and its impact on CPU performance....it was very limited. With a quad core setup, they had 50 AI models interacting with the surrounding world and no lag. Astonishing.

    Single core CPUs can handle current games, and dual core is somewhat of a waste (although they kick A$$ in other applications), but more cores = better for the not-too-distant future

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Kentsfield overclocked.
    Again, Kentsfield @ 3.3 GHz, 8800GTX @xxx/xxxx (NDA in action here ) on Phantom 500.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oldsmar, FL
    Posts
    78
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So that Phantom 500 has 16a & 17a on the rails? Did I read that correct? I need a translator!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skott View Post
    So that Phantom 500 has 16a & 17a on the rails? Did I read that correct? I need a translator!
    The Antec Phantom 500, has 17a@+12v1 and 18a@+12v2
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-10-2014, 01:59 PM
  2. PSU for Q6600 quad core overclocking?
    By Ned in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2007, 02:35 PM
  3. Intel Quad Core price drops
    By Kab in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 12:02 PM
  4. Quick question about powering a quad core
    By Spawne32 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-03-2007, 04:28 AM
  5. Quad core useless for games?
    By CAD4466HK in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2006, 06:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •