Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: confusion and agony- The PSU compunction- ive always wanted to use that word-:)

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Talking confusion and agony- The PSU conundrum

hello everyone, this is my first post, but before I start, I just want to say this forum/site is by far one of the most informative and useful sites I have ever come across, I know a bit about building computers, but have never been very technical, alot of times I have put components together according to price, and number of positive reviews. This time around I have really tried to sink my teeth in and make some really informed decisions. So for all intents and purposes I’m a noob, a young grass hopper 

Jonny all thumbs up for all of this (site , forum, reviews, links etc.) and all the users at what ever level, noob, enthusiast, pseudo-expert and experts, I am also great full for the questions posed and answers replied. I have read extensively and now have a better understanding of what is required and all the different approaches to PSU (multi rail/single rail etc), including tolerance and ripple etc. I still feel a bit lost so I thought id post some questions.

Wow, I just wanted to say well done- *cough* I will keep this short *cough* promise . I am trying to put together a workstation; I intend it to be a multipurpose workstation, so basically at core, has to be powerful to handle a wide range of operations. I intend to use it as an enthusiast level DAW (digital audio workstation), 3d box (I am only learning- so my demands aren't that demanding- errr!...you get what I mean!!!), video editing (again novice). I know its not practical, but I am not really dropping an insane amount of money on this, its more a tool to facilitate a super high learning curve i intend to go by. So I don't mind if it doesn't do everything to perfection, as long as it does most things very well.