Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Power Meter with accuracy above 700W

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    985
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Power Meter with accuracy above 700W

    So the time has come to upgrade my test system to something that can can stress 700W+ PSUs.

    The problem is that I am a bit worried about the accuracy of my UPM power meter above 500W after reading Jonny's post about how the Kill-A-Watt became inaccurate at higher loads.

    I am looking for something that is rated a bit higher and is a bit more of a "Professional" tool. So far I have found a few options:

    Brultech2020

    WattsUp Pro with PF logger

    Fluke Clamp meter which I could use with my Fluke 177. The only problem with this approach is (if I read right) the Fluke 177 can only read up to 10A accurately if I am reading this correctly:
    Fluke 187 Specs

    Or a true clamp meter

    So, what do you guys think? What should I do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,078
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    539
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    The clamp meter is a good idea. I had the Fluke model and now I have a UniTrend that I'm very happy with.

    Extech is a good brand. It's what all of the AMD techs use. I'd suggest poking around the Extech site a little more too. They actually have an industrial version of what a Kill-A-Watt does on there.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    985
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah, I actually found a pretty good price on a kit here:

    Test Kit

    It has a multimeter, clamp-meter (up to 400A) and the IR theremometer. How does that look?

    As for the power meter, do you mean somthing like this:
    http://www.extech.com/instrument/pro...99/380801.html

    For some reason, I can't find it for sale on that same site.....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,126
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    I considered the Watts-Up as I have recently upgraded as well (aka F***ing POS power supply killed 2 Kill-A-Watts). I never could find out if it was more robust than the Kill-A-Watt. I ended up going with a Brand Electronics Power Meter with an Extech slip on current transducer. It seems to be working very well, as I happened to have a test report for a couple units from the factory and my results were a bit lower but well within reason of what the chroma spit out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    985
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spectre View Post
    I considered the Watts-Up as I have recently upgraded as well (aka F***ing POS power supply killed 2 Kill-A-Watts). I never could find out if it was more robust than the Kill-A-Watt. I ended up going with a Brand Electronics Power Meter with an Extech slip on current transducer. It seems to be working very well, as I happened to have a test report for a couple units from the factory and my results were a bit lower but well within reason of what the chroma spit out.
    What I like about the WattsUp is that it has a Power Factor reading too. If I go for the Extech Power Analyzer it will put me back close to $600.

    How much did the Brand Electronics and the Extech transducer put you back?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,126
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
    What I like about the WattsUp is that it has a Power Factor reading too. If I go for the Extech Power Analyzer it will put me back close to $600.

    How much did the Brand Electronics and the Extech transducer put you back?
    I got the unit refurbed after some strings were pulled but the exact model I have NEW will run $349 for the Model 21-1850/CI (uses serial port for logging), the Model 21-1850/USB (USB port for logging) with 32mb is $400.00, and the current transducer is $75. They cap at 1850VA but so far I have put 1500VA through it accurately, and it does log PF, peak wattage, rmsI, VA, and cost!

    They also do custome jobs of up to 4000VA AFAIK, and they make some units that will read multiple sources at once.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    985
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yikes....I don't think I will need to put that much current through the thing.

    What was the peak your Kill-A-Watt accurately tested up to?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,126
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
    Yikes....I don't think I will need to put that much current through the thing.

    What was the peak your Kill-A-Watt accurately tested up to?
    Well it up and died at anything over 1500VA (actually gave me over unity once...then stopped working). From what it looks like here it starts getting less accurate (more than the billed 2%) after 1200VA depending on the unit.....which I have no idea why that was. With a lot of 1kw units coming through (and getting tired of returning dead Kill-A-Watts) I am going to be over 1200VA a lot so I started hunting for something new.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    985
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So even if I was able to draw 800W from the wall, a Kill A Watt should still be more or less OK. Correct?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,126
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
    So even if I was able to draw 800W from the wall, a Kill A Watt should still be more or less OK. Correct?
    Yeah it should be and mine were within the advertised 2% range. It was above that range of 900-1200VA that it starts getting wonky at times.

Similar Threads

  1. Consumer grade power meters accuracy
    By quest for silence in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-24-2015, 08:19 PM
  2. Brand Power Meter Accuracy
    By CM Phaedrus in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-25-2014, 07:35 PM
  3. Integrated Power Meter
    By Mach in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-17-2011, 11:39 PM
  4. My new Power Meter :D
    By crmaris in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 09:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •