Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: World's first playable DX10 demo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default World's first playable DX10 demo

    May 15th:
    http://blogs.nvidia.com/developers/2...we_nvidia.html
    Too bad that all the major websites have already done reviewing the R600...

    Edit: B.t.w, in case if anyone (who will actually try it) will have problems with missing DX9 or DX10 DLL's, you need to get the latest versions of these files by running the DX web installer:
    Link
    It is good for any version of OS (it will install all the missing DX10 DLL's into Vista) regardless of the descriptions.
    Last edited by alexk; 05-15-2007 at 09:39 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,590
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    what makes you think they won't review R600 again?
    Rig 1: Phenom II X2 550-Asus M5A78L-MLX--2x4 Patriot DDR3 1333--Asus Formula HD4770--Enermax Triathlor 450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 10 x64
    Rig 2: Core i3 6300--Asrock Z170M Extreme4--2x8 Adata DDR4 2400--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair CX500M--Corsair Hydro H55--Windows 7 x64

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,302
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    652
    Thanked in
    476 Posts

    Default

    Hmm... Looks like I need to get to installing Vista on a PC so I can give this a shot.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrWicked1968 View Post
    what makes you think they won't review R600 again?
    They might re-review it some time later, however it's not a typical thing to do (show me any sites which re-review the same exact hardware each time there's a new game/demo/driver is being released... and I mean the actual hardware reviews, not the reviews of the game itself).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,590
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    but isn't that what they've already done? the first reviews aren't purely hardware reviews either since they have to have software and drivers in order to gauge performance.
    Rig 1: Phenom II X2 550-Asus M5A78L-MLX--2x4 Patriot DDR3 1333--Asus Formula HD4770--Enermax Triathlor 450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 10 x64
    Rig 2: Core i3 6300--Asrock Z170M Extreme4--2x8 Adata DDR4 2400--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair CX500M--Corsair Hydro H55--Windows 7 x64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,302
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    652
    Thanked in
    476 Posts

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Well, that was fast They are using 8800GTX, though, which isn't quite fair since ATi's card performs more closely to 8800GTS 640MB card

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    509
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've had a chance to run it on both 64bit Home Premium & XP. One pass was done with each OS...using the performance benchmark included with the demo.

    System:

    E6600@3.1
    eVGA 680i
    eVGA 8800 GTX-stock
    4 GB Ballistix Tracers@800

    NV Control Panel:
    158.42(Vista drivers)(158.22 XP)
    16AAQ
    16AF
    Gamma Correction-On
    AA Transparency-Super Sampling
    Texture Filtering-High Quality

    Res-1280x720 since there is no option for 1280x1024



    Edit: While I was getting my settings from the control panel, I realized my my dumbass had vsync on, so the Vista results I have are void. I'll redo them in about 10 hours from now, as well as give me thoughts on IQ from DX9/10

    With vysnc on in Vista I had:

    56 snow
    51 cave

    It's late, I'll get it corrected later today
    Last edited by Sphere; 05-16-2007 at 12:05 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    In yer 'fridge, eatin' yer pizza
    Posts
    1,785
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've gotta say, nVidia's servers rock! I'm dl'ing the DX9 demo (I'm running XP with 7950GT SLI, why bother with the other?) and I'm hitting 900+Kb/s. w00t!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    509
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    After turning off vsynch with Vista, I'm getting 58 & 53.

    As far as graphics are concerned, I'm not seeing any real differences *in motion* maybe if still pictures were taken. So those with out Vista and a DX10 card, as of now, your missing out on nothing

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-25-2007, 08:10 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 12:03 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 03:52 PM
  4. DX10 support on AGP????
    By CAD4466HK in forum GPU Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-25-2007, 12:47 PM
  5. PS for OC + holding future DX10 mainstream card. + case...
    By laizer in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-22-2006, 02:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •