Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Question about psu click

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    5
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Question about psu click

    Hi,
    i bought new mouse with very bright rgb but after pc shutdown led stays on. Then in bios i enable "ERP" and with erp enable mouse led is off when pc is off, but my psu start to make click sound when powering on.
    So with erp disable psu only make click sound when i shut it down, with erp enable it clicks on both shutdown and turn on. And my question- is it safe this way or better turn off erp fuction?

    And one more question- my pc, monitor, speakers are connected to power strip and then to the electrical socket. What is the proper way for power off- after windows shutdown do i have to turn power strip switch off and left it plug in, unplug it from wall or leave it pc off, power strip switch on and plugged?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,510
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    582
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    714
    Thanked in
    524 Posts

    Default

    Probably an inrush current limiter relay.

    What PSU is it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    3,090
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    226
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    130
    Thanked in
    119 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by username1 View Post
    Hi,
    And one more question- my pc, monitor, speakers are connected to power strip and then to the electrical socket. What is the proper way for power off- after windows shutdown do i have to turn power strip switch off and left it plug in, unplug it from wall or leave it pc off, power strip switch on and plugged?

    I leave mine plugged in so the CMOS battery lasts longer, but I have a hefty surge protector and so don't worry about spikes from lightening strikes.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    5
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    Probably an inrush current limiter relay.

    What PSU is it?
    LC-Power LC1200

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    6,029
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    401
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    292
    Thanked in
    224 Posts

    Default

    That one indeed has a relay.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,510
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    582
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    714
    Thanked in
    524 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sherrijackson View Post
    I used to have that issue no matter what i changed on my old system. To be honest in my case ERP off was the only thing that worked. No idea why you have that clicking problem..
    We told him why two weeks ago.

    Are you a Spambot or something?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •