Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Is this PSU compatible with my ancient HP dc5800 workstation upgrade?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    6,012
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    400
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    287
    Thanked in
    219 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by faloompa View Post
    I can buy a Q9400 for 10$ on AliExpress but the Q9400S is 43$ as you said
    *Edit: I found a Q9400s for 26$! (AliExpress) - should I go for it?
    S models are exactly the same CPU, but with a lower max frequency and therefore lower voltage. If your motherboard had a BIOS with overclock (underclock) options you could turn your CPU in a S model. That's not possible with your motherboard. But still I wouldn't pay more for less.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to -The_Mask- For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-27-2020)

  3. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,809
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    136
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 - AT80580PJ0676M / BX80580Q9400 / BXC80580Q9400 (cpu-world.com)
    says maximum power 133W even if the TDP is 95W

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400S - AT80580AJ0676M / BX80580Q9400S (cpu-world.com)
    also says maximum power 133W with TDP 65W

    Can't say I understand; doesn't make any sense to me.
    Because that 133W number is not present on official Intel specs. Likely some whole system power draw pasted in randomly without any context - or related to materials requirements for e.g., CPU lid, i.e., not relevant to a customer. The fact that it's exact same for several CPUs with clearly different parameters (also same on Q9650) means it's not actual measured power consumption number
    Last edited by rafal_iB_PL; 11-27-2020 at 05:21 AM.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to rafal_iB_PL For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-27-2020)

  5. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    42
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    27
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks guys

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    S models are exactly the same CPU, but with a lower max frequency and therefore lower voltage. If your motherboard had a BIOS with overclock (underclock) options you could turn your CPU in a S model. That's not possible with your motherboard. But still I wouldn't pay more for less.
    I thought so to, but the weird thing about the quads is that their frequency is the same (?): https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...0s,2162-2.html:

    All have exactly the same technical characteristics and performance as the corresponding regular models, but they are rated at a maximum thermal design power of 65 W

    And in this case paying less for more may cost me more if I burn my PSU

    *Also I have 4 sticks of DDR2,maybe I should stay with 2 only if I plan to add a 19w GPU (GT 710)

  6. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    6,012
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    400
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    287
    Thanked in
    219 Posts

    Default

    If you overload a decent PSU it will shutdown, no burns no bangs, just a safe shutdown. The only thing you should worry about is CPU support from the motherboard, if the CPU is supported you should be fine.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to -The_Mask- For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-27-2020)

  8. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    42
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    27
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    If you overload a decent PSU it will shutdown, no burns no bangs, just a safe shutdown. The only thing you should worry about is CPU support from the motherboard, if the CPU is supported you should be fine.
    I think I found some bad news: https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...0s,2162-8.html

    Even the S versions consume more than 100w alone (without any GPU) under load. and I can't undervolt.

    I guess upgrading to Core 2 Quad + GPU is out of question? (On that specific 240w PSU), unless I just find some other SFF PSU.

    It's weird because I saw online that people upgrade to both Core 2 Quad and some GT 1030.. don't understand how
    Last edited by faloompa; 11-27-2020 at 07:49 AM.

  9. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,809
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    136
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

    Default

    It's whole system numbers measured at the wall, i.e., with PSU's efficiency losses. And those were not that efficient back then...

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to rafal_iB_PL For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-27-2020)

  11. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    6,012
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    400
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    287
    Thanked in
    219 Posts

    Default

    That's simple, because they just bought those components and put it in their system. You make it way to difficult for yourself.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to -The_Mask- For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-27-2020)

  13. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    42
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    27
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rafal_iB_PL View Post
    It's whole system numbers measured at the wall, i.e., with PSU's efficiency losses. And those were not that efficient back then...
    So for example if I see a 100w and the PSU is 80% efficient it means the actual power draw by the system was 80w?


    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    That's simple, because they just bought those components and put it in their system. You make it way to difficult for yourself.
    But their system is only made of a motherboard and the CPU and that's it(page 4 of this test). Which means the only measured the CPU itself (minus the efficiency loss), so you still think I can be good with a normal Core 2 Quad (Non-S) and a GPU?

  14. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,809
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    136
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

    Default

    So for example if I see a 100w and the PSU is 80% efficient it means the actual power draw by the system was 80w?
    If you know PSU is 80% efficient at 80W load, by definition, yes.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to rafal_iB_PL For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-27-2020)

  16. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    42
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    27
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So should I use the Core 2 Duo E8600 instead which is similar to the Q8400 in performance? (I think).
    I know I'm writing so much but It's Black Friday and I'm bored in front of the PC all day any way

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •