Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Is this PSU compatible with my ancient HP dc5800 workstation upgrade?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    42
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    27
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Is this PSU compatible with my ancient HP dc5800 workstation upgrade?

    I was planning to connect an ancient HP dc5800 SFF workstation to the TV.
    It currently has a Pentium E5400 with awful integrated graphics.
    I was thinking about upgrading the CPU to Core 2 Quad Q9400 and add a 50$ GT 710 2gb GDDR5: https://www.amazon.com/GeForce-GDDR5..._t2_B074Q4QF4J

    This is the build: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/XT3h9N

    As you can see it is 133 watts. My PSU is 240w, but, this is how it is distributed:
    5.08V: 17A
    3.33V: 15A
    12V: 7.5A

    And I think that CPU and GPU both take from the 12v rail, which in my case only has 7.5 amps.
    And the Core 2 Quad Q9400 is 95w, meaning it uses (95/12=)7.9 amps , and the GT 710 is 19w so it draws extra (19/12)=1.58 amps for a total of 9.48 amps ,
    that's much higher than the 7.5A on the 12v of this PSU

    But maybe my calculation is wrong and the do not necessarily use the 12v rail only?

    *And if my upgrade is not compatible with that PSU, is there a different upgrade you suggest?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    6,039
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    401
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    294
    Thanked in
    226 Posts

    Default

    As long as the PSU is still in a good state I expect no problems.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to -The_Mask- For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-26-2020)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    3,103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    227
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    133
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    Even if it can only supply 90W on the 12V line?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,813
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    136
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

    Default

    TDP is not equivalent to power consumption, actual draw of C2Q will be lower than those 95W, especially if not using stress test applications (Linpack, OCCT etc). At stock it will be more like half of TDP in typical workloads. Likewise, 710 won't be fully loaded either. So yes, you're likely fine in that power budget if you avoid dedicated stress test kind of applications.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to rafal_iB_PL For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-26-2020)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    42
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    27
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    thank you. Any way to check what is the actual draw of these 2 together? Btw why is this PSU using so much amps on the 5v and 3.3v?

    *Also, by using the 2 together (c2q+gt 710), will it affect PSU lifespan? or those PSU life span is designed the same whether they're working at 50% load or 90% load?

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    3,103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    227
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    133
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    The Kill A Watt unit is good at measuring consumption

    The Q9400S has a TDP of 65W
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ashiekh; 11-26-2020 at 06:12 PM.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-26-2020)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    42
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    27
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    nice
    Those "S" models are way too expensive for them to be worth buying. they're sold for like 80$+.. damn

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    3,103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    227
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    133
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    I recently got a second hand Q9550 for $25 with shipping and an air cooled GT 1030 video card ($80) and a Seagate 2TB FireCuda SSHD for a similar upgrade to what you are doing.

    You seem willing to pay $43 for the Q9400; on ebay the Q9400S is the same price second hand.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ashiekh; 11-26-2020 at 06:30 PM.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-26-2020)

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    42
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    27
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I can buy a Q9400 for 10$ on AliExpress but the Q9400S is 43$ as you said
    *Edit: I found a Q9400s for 26$! (AliExpress) - should I go for it?

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    3,103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    227
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    133
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 - AT80580PJ0676M / BX80580Q9400 / BXC80580Q9400 (cpu-world.com)
    says maximum power 133W even if the TDP is 95W

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400S - AT80580AJ0676M / BX80580Q9400S (cpu-world.com)
    also says maximum power 133W with TDP 65W

    Can't say I understand; doesn't make any sense to me.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 11-26-2020 at 10:56 PM.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    faloompa (11-27-2020)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •