Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 48

Thread: EVGA W1 500W... Oops!

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,201
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    429
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    51
    Thanked in
    41 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    Me, I see it as an "investment". If I pay a shit load of money up front to reduce failure rate from 5% to .01%, even on a cheap PSU like a VS, then I'll make my money back in a heart beat.
    It's also an investment in consumer goodwill. Besides cutting your overhead on support and returns, you're also generating return customers who will buy your companies product again in 5-10 years when they're making a new system or recommend those products to others when they wish to build.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    3,103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    227
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    133
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    It is also possible that Aris got a bad unit and it is not a design flaw.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,522
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    582
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    720
    Thanked in
    530 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    It is also possible that Aris got a bad unit and it is not a design flaw.
    No. There are a lot of design flaws in that PSU.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    Philipus II (11-26-2020)

  5. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    3,103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    227
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    133
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    Isn't the VS400,500,600 based on the same platform?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ashiekh; 11-25-2020 at 10:42 PM.

  6. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,522
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    582
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    720
    Thanked in
    530 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Isn't the VS400,500,600 based on the same platform?
    Yes. But without the design flaws.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    ashiekh (11-25-2020)

  8. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany, Berlin
    Posts
    1,719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,106
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    64
    Thanked in
    45 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    I agree. EVGA PSUs were never "popular" until the G2 came out and were sold below cost.
    I don't think they were technically sold below cost, at least not most of the time. Gross margin was definately positive. Still, EVGA was more aiming for 5% gross margin, which other brands aim for 15-30%. The 15-30% you need to be profitable with your project because there is a lot of administrative overhead, cost for R&D, testing, QC, tooling, customer service, RMA, marketing, channel marketing/kickbacks/SI discounts etc.. Okay, if you don't have to spend money on R&D, tooling and testing you need much less margin, true, but you also rely on the goodwill and abilities of your OEM to deliver decent product. Worked fine for G2/P2, obviously didn't work for W1.

  9. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,102
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    373
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    84
    Thanked in
    55 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Isn't the VS400,500,600 based on the same platform?
    You can see how the bridge rectifier in the Corsair does have a heatsink, right?

    There are other improvements too, like moving the secondary capacitors a little to the left and cables to the right, so the caps are not hidden underneath the forest of wires like on the original design.

  10. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,102
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    373
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    84
    Thanked in
    55 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Now the supply is 500W so only 5A, so the temperature rise might be a lot
    less than 50C if the board is itself a good heatsink and that would keep the
    junction temperature below 100C even with a high ambient.

    So I am not at all convinced that Aris is right.
    Also, notice that it's not like the bridge rectifier (without heatsink) is rated at 3A@100C, and is rated for more current at lower temps.
    No - it's literally rated at 3A at all temps from 0C to 100C. Of course, logic would suggest "surely if it is rated for 3A at 100C, it could do more amps below that", but the fact is the manufacturer rates it at 3A through the entire operating range. Even at 0 degrees C they don't guarantee any more than 3A.


  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Orion For This Useful Post:

    rafal_iB_PL (11-26-2020)

  12. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    VN
    Posts
    207
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    11
    Thanked in
    11 Posts

    Default

    don't forget the fan . this with blow some heat in diode bridge.
    seem need someone make a test

  13. #40
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    3,103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    227
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    133
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Orion View Post
    Also, notice that it's not like the bridge rectifier (without heatsink) is rated at 3A@100C, and is rated for more current at lower temps.
    No - it's literally rated at 3A at all temps from 0C to 100C. Of course, logic would suggest "surely if it is rated for 3A at 100C, it could do more amps below that", but the fact is the manufacturer rates it at 3A through the entire operating range. Even at 0 degrees C they don't guarantee any more than 3A.

    As I keep saying, one can use the circuit board to dump heat through the legs (that is also in the specs)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •