Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Is Seasonic Focus/Prime fan load based?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    525
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    204
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    67
    Thanked in
    41 Posts

    Default Is Seasonic Focus/Prime fan load based?

    Do they have smart MCUs that consider load and duration?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,395
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    581
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    668
    Thanked in
    490 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Polaris20 View Post
    Do they have smart MCUs that consider load and duration?
    No. They are only temperature based.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    Polaris20 (09-01-2020)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    ROK
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    No. They are only temperature based.
    How about the CWT platforms? Does the PSU that has not gone through Corsair also use a fan controller MCU? (Greater than or equal to 80 Plus Gold PSU)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,782
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    133
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

    Default

    I mean higher load generally increases internal temperatures by default, so isn't specifically accounting for it kind of moot when you can just easily measure internal temperature itself?

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,395
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    581
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    668
    Thanked in
    490 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barcode View Post
    How about the CWT platforms?
    I suppose it depends on the "platform". I don't know what is used in the CWT branded products, but I assume it's just temperature based.

    If you're implying that the MCU is a CWT thing and that Corsair is just leveraging it, you're mistaken.

    The MCU Corsair uses is Corsair's invention. And while it's not "patented", it's a cost adder, so I doubt many others use anything like quite like it. It's also not just used in models made by CWT. It's used in models made by Flex and Great Wall as well, where those company's typical fan controller is just temperature based. The only PSUs that Corsair has currently that doesn't use an MCU for the fan controller where there is a zero RPM fan mode is the AX Series.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    breixobaloca (10-02-2020)

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    703
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    491
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    8
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    The only PSUs that Corsair has currently that doesn't use an MCU for the fan controller where there is a zero RPM fan mode is the AX Series.

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/show...278#post155278

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to breixobaloca For This Useful Post:

    Polaris20 (10-02-2020)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,395
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    581
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    668
    Thanked in
    490 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by breixobaloca View Post
    Mixed two things up.

    Barcode made the equation that MCU = load based fan control. I need to clarify. All of the Zero RPM fan PSUs use an MCU. All but AX change fan speed by load.

    MCU =/= load based fan control. For load based fan control you need OPAMPS in line with the loads to measure the load. The AX doesn't have this.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    breixobaloca (10-05-2020)

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,971
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    207
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    117
    Thanked in
    106 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    No. They are only temperature based.

    Temperature based seems reasonable to me.

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    311
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    91
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    8
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    Mixed two things up.

    Barcode made the equation that MCU = load based fan control. I need to clarify. All of the Zero RPM fan PSUs use an MCU. All but AX change fan speed by load.

    MCU =/= load based fan control. For load based fan control you need OPAMPS in line with the loads to measure the load. The AX doesn't have this.
    All corsair zero RPM use MCU or in general?

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,395
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    581
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    668
    Thanked in
    490 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by none77 View Post
    All corsair zero RPM use MCU or in general?
    All use an MCU because a hysteresis has to be programmed into something so the fan doesn't go on-off-on-off-on-off when the temperatures are on the precipice of needing to turn on. The old GS used to do this and it was annoying AF.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •