Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Problem with PSU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    India
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Problem with PSU

    Hello,

    I have a Corsair Hx650 almost 7 years old now, Problem start during the first start in the morning it does not switch on i have to wait like 5 to min to start i have tested it by shorting the pin on the motherboard. I would like to know how long can i use this Psu will it cause further damage to other component? i am asking this i am unable to get a quality psu dur to cornavirus pandemic. if it going to cause any more damage i will buy any Psu which will be in stock ( I am from India)


    Thank you very much.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    581
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    668
    Thanked in
    490 Posts

    Default

    What is the "first start of the morning" routine?

    Just press the button on the front of the case?

    Or do you switch the PSU off from the switch on the back before you go to bed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    India
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I switch off from the wall. while using i switch on the wall switch and then press the case power on button.
    Last edited by Jimmy100; 08-16-2020 at 02:32 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    581
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    668
    Thanked in
    490 Posts

    Default

    Ok. Cool.. So the PC works when it does turn on. Right?

    You simply shut down Windows at night. Leave the PSU in standby. Come back the next morning and hit the power button, even tried tapping the two power on pins, and it does... what?

    Does it power on and no POST? Does it not power on?

    What is happening in this five minute period before you can actually "start" the PC?

    This is starting to not sound like a PSU problem, BTW.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    370
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    82
    Thanked in
    53 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmy100 View Post
    I switch off from the wall. while using i switch on the wall switch and then press the case power on button.
    Do not switch off the wall switch when you turn off the PC. (Why are you doing that?). Power supplies are not designed to have their power cut off/on 730 times a year, so by doing that you might have damaged the PSU.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Orion For This Useful Post:

    Jon Gerow (08-16-2020)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    581
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    668
    Thanked in
    490 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmy100 View Post
    I switch off from the wall.
    You ninja edited.

    Don't switch off from the wall. That's dumb. Stop doing it.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    Jimmy100 (08-17-2020)

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    India
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yes, the pc work after it is turn on like a normal pc would do.

    I have tried shorting the two power pin other the motherboard same result i have to short it few times then wait then short it again to get the power on.

    I just switch on the wall switch before the five minute period

    Thank you very much.

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    India
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks will not repeat it henceforth.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,969
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    207
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    116
    Thanked in
    105 Posts

    Default

    I'd also check the CMOS battery

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    Jon Gerow (08-17-2020)

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    581
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    668
    Thanked in
    490 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I'd also check the CMOS battery
    This is good advice.

    The CMOS is kept charged by +5VSB. If you turn off the power and the battery is dead, you lose your settings.. including memory timings if using a profile.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •