Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: FSP Hydro GD/GE

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    45
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    you can already see it that way.
    nah, that's awesome, you truly deserve an hawk-eye award cos I struggled finding info about....meh, thanks to your source (quasarzone) I found out my current Hydro (non-pro) has a Capxon as primary ....anyway last weekend I did order a brand new EA550G Pro due to come tomorrow.
    p.s. anyway that website DON'T EVER mention secondary :| any clue about secondaries on Hydro non-PRO and Hydro PRO? Tnks again.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,788
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    396
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    233
    Thanked in
    174 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by barbeque View Post
    I found out my current Hydro (non-pro) has a Capxon as primary
    Shouldn't matter, as long as the specs or right. So if it's a 450V, with of course the right capacity, you shouldn't get any problem with a low quality one. Over the years it are always the standby and/or secondary caps are the ones that fail.
    p.s. anyway that website DON'T EVER mention secondary :| any clue about secondaries on Hydro non-PRO and Hydro PRO? Tnks again.
    Quality of the caps in the Hydro Pro are really great for a PSU like this. I don't expect them to fail in 10 years. I guess the caps are the best part of the PSU.

    Hydro is not that special. Somewhere between 5 and 10 years depending on how much use, temperature and dust I guess.
    http://playwares.com/pcreview/49190213#

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    45
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    heh, isn't Rubycon even of better quality than NipponChemi in a capacitor tier list? (dunno)

    mine is hitting 3 yrs (next month) of seldom service. Some retrogaming, no heating issues (this desktop is conviently placed if it were in the livin' room or any bedroom, nearly 30c of ambient temp these days :| ). I admit it got a full clean from TOO MUCH dust only after 2 yrs since purchasing it

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,809
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    195
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    110
    Thanked in
    100 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by barbeque View Post
    I found out my current Hydro (non-pro) has a Capxon as primary

    So long as you don't have APFC, the primary is not very taxed and so CapXon should be fine.

    As far as secondary capacitors go, if they use polymer electrolyte the brand does not matter much.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,788
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    396
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    233
    Thanked in
    174 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by barbeque View Post
    heh, isn't Rubycon even of better quality than NipponChemi in a capacitor tier list? (dunno)
    Like almost all manufacturers, they have low quality till high quality.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    a
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    I've got a feeling we answer that question that you just gonna post another PSU. So why not ask the question you really wanna ask?
    Actually I'm asking on behalf on someone who is looking forward to build a new machine with specs something like this:

    R5 3600
    16GB RAM
    1TB NVMe SSD
    B550 board
    RTX2060 (non-super)
    ATX case

    So I'm looking for a somewhat decent PSU around RM300; but it's quite hard to find a decent model as a lot of good ones are either overpriced or straight up not available :/

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,788
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    396
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    233
    Thanked in
    174 Posts

    Default

    That's why it's much easier to just ask what the best PSU for the PC for a specific price. The best choice is just always something different depending on availability, pricing an specs. For a PC like that I would say the Segotep GP600T is a great choice.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    a
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    That's why it's much easier to just ask what the best PSU for the PC for a specific price. The best choice is just always something different depending on availability, pricing an specs. For a PC like that I would say the Segotep GP600T is a great choice.
    What about other ones like this?

    Antec Neo Eco C 550
    Thermaltake GX1 Gold 500W
    Corsair CX550M

    Also I think the Segotep is a clearance unit as I believe the distributor has EOL'ed the PSU

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,788
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    396
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    233
    Thanked in
    174 Posts

    Default

    So the Segotep isn't available anymore?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    a
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    So the Segotep isn't available anymore?
    Yup, I think that one is discontinued in our local market

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •