Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is this my PSU? No Signal, Computer Runs, Must Cycle PSU.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Is this my PSU? No Signal, Computer Runs, Must Cycle PSU.

    Hi all! I've been reading jonnyguru for years and just found the forums, cheers!

    I've had this intermittent problem where my PC will stop sending a display signal to my monitors (monitors are powered and display NO SIGNAL), but the computer fans and lights continue to run normally. The power LEDs remain on, yet holding the power button won't turn the machine off. I need to go to the PSU, shut it off there, turn it back on, then hit the case's power button.

    I've run stress tests on my PC (Intel Burn Test) and monitored the temps, and the Tdie never go above 70oC (as measured by HWINFO).

    My feeling is that the PSU is to blame. I fear that the power draw might be a little too close to PSU's limit, and my unit is a bit of a bargain bin choice to begin with (EVGA 750 BQ).

    I've had this problem with two separate GPUs, so I feel safe ruling that out.

    My question to the wise folk of the forum: Do these symptoms sound like a PSU problem to you as well? What wattage PSU do you think I should go for? 1000W? 1200W? I'd like to upgrade my RX 480 to something like a RTX 2070 or a second 2080 sometime soon. I'm thinking of the SuperNOVA P2 series, but rather not spend the cash if you all think e.g. an 800W will do.

    My build:

    CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 3.4GHz

    MoBo: MSI X399 GAMING PRO CARBON AC (MS-7B09)

    PSU: EVGA 750W BQ

    RAM: 32Gb DDR4

    GPU (Display): RX 480

    GPU (Secondary, Compute): RTX 2080

    Monitor 1: DELL U2412M

    Monitor 2: ASUS MG28U

    Drives: Seagate ST2000DM006-2DM164, Crucial_CT1050MX300SSD1, PM961 NVMe SAMSUNG 256GB, ST8000VN0002-1Z8112, ST8000VN0002-1Z8112


    Power Estimates:

    PC PartPicker has these wattage estimates for me:

    A total of 729W (I didn't include my drives).

    AMD Threadripper 1950X 3.4 GHz 16-Core Processor 22W - 180W
    Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3 82.52 CFM CPU Cooler 5W - 10W
    MSI X399 GAMING PRO CARBON AC (MS-7B09) 17W - 70W
    Corsair Vengeance 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4 Memory 29W
    Sapphire Radeon RX 480 8 GB NITRO+ OC Video Card 56W - 225W
    MSI Duke RTX 2080 53W - 215W

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,918
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    571
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    524
    Thanked in
    388 Posts

    Default

    More likely to be the motherboard.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    megrfloops (06-03-2020)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,611
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    178
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    98
    Thanked in
    89 Posts

    Default

    Following the Guru's suggestion; is the BIOS up to date?

    https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/supp...-PRO-CARBON-AC

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    megrfloops (06-03-2020)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks all!

    I was really hoping the MoBo wasn't the issue ;_;

    This BIOS is indeed one version behind (1B instead of 1C).
    I'll update and report back! Thanks again.

    I've had people tell me that they suspect the RAM is more likely than the PSU, but I would have expected BSoDs in that case.

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,611
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    178
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    98
    Thanked in
    89 Posts

    Default

    No harm in running MemTest

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,918
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    571
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    524
    Thanked in
    388 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    No harm in running MemTest
    Except it doesn't really work with modern RAM.

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,611
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    178
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    98
    Thanked in
    89 Posts

    Default

    Which tool do you recommend?

    How good is

    Windows Memory Diagnostic

    which is part of Windows?
    Last edited by ashiekh; 06-04-2020 at 09:12 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •