Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 47

Thread: Great Wall TITAN TF750 (/TF850) SFX Power Supply @Expreview

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,865
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    200
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    112
    Thanked in
    101 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    Jack asses can't even bother to tool their own housing. They even left the deboss where the "SF750" sticker goes.

    Same quality internal components?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ashiekh; 04-27-2020 at 01:56 AM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,296
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    651
    Thanked in
    475 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Same quality internal components?
    I would assume so. If they had to qualify any change of components, they would have to do at least another DVT stage. That costs extra time and money... which isn't a very Chinese thing.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,865
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    200
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    112
    Thanked in
    101 Posts

    Default

    Throwing in cheap capacitors does not take a lot of sweat.

    And credit where credit is due, would you like to work the hours they do for the wage they get?

    I see the Corsair VS450 for $33 with postage and wonder how it can be done.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 04-27-2020 at 02:19 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,296
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    651
    Thanked in
    475 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Throwing in cheap capacitors does not take a lot of sweat.
    You'd be surprised. If they want to do their due diligence, they should do a DVT phase.

    In the VS (the newer one from HEC), we had to change from Teapo to HEC on the bulk cap because the Teapos were failing. Never found the root cause, but on paper, the Teapo and Elite caps have the exact same specs. Yet Teapo was failing and Elites were not.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    Polaris20 (08-15-2020)

  6. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,865
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    200
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    112
    Thanked in
    101 Posts

    Default

    Did you ever get to check the over-voltage issue when running on a square wave UPS?

    https://digilander.libero.it/hibone/...est_Report.pdf
    Last edited by ashiekh; 04-27-2020 at 06:11 PM.

  7. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,296
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    651
    Thanked in
    475 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Did you ever get to check the over-voltage issue when running on a square wave UPS?
    Nope.

    And now that I'm "locked out" of the lab, it's not going to happen any time soon!

  8. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,865
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    200
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    112
    Thanked in
    101 Posts

    Default

    Reminds me of Feynman; he knew how a garden sprinkler works, but was wondering what would happen if the higher pressure was on the outside and not the inside.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feynman_sprinkler

    Turns out not to be so obvious; so he put one in a glass container of water and pressurized it... it exploded and he was banned from the lab at Princeton.
    https://casualcalculations.wordpress...man-sprinkler/


    Perhaps you have an equally memorable reason for being locked out?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ashiekh; 04-27-2020 at 04:53 PM.

  9. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    17,296
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    579
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    651
    Thanked in
    475 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Perhaps you have an equally memorable reason for being locked out?
    Because of COVID-19 and all non-essential workers in California are asked to stay home.

    The entire office is literally locked down.

  10. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,865
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    200
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    112
    Thanked in
    101 Posts

    Default

    What a great project to run from home... can probably be done without an oscilloscope if one makes a tiny rectifier. Then again, it is not to be done alone as the voltages are lethal.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 04-27-2020 at 06:00 PM.

  11. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,865
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    200
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    112
    Thanked in
    101 Posts

    Default

    https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q...3&&FORM=VRDGAR

    Is that you who says "That was spectacular"? at 1:00 min

    Now we know why you were really locked out... ;-)
    Last edited by ashiekh; 04-27-2020 at 05:39 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •