Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Vega56 okay that I didn't spread my thermal paste?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Vega56 okay that I didn't spread my thermal paste?

    https://imgur.com/gallery/79y5WGV

    Getting some flak on reddit because I didn't spread out that caterpillar on the main GPU die. It's an MSI Air Boost reference blower design and so far temps are pretty good. Wondering what people think about spreading vs not spreading. For the record I never spread thermal paste on anything whatsoever.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,837
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    568
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    499
    Thanked in
    371 Posts

    Default

    It's fine. The tension of the heatsink on the die will spread it out. It won't spread evenly, but it'll be fine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,559
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    173
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    93
    Thanked in
    84 Posts

    Default

    I spread it out to make sure I am not putting on too much; that caterpillar looks like too much to me.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 04-13-2020 at 05:50 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,133
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    424
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    35
    Thanked in
    27 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I spread it out to make sure I am not putting on too much; that caterpillar looks like too much to me.
    As long as the paste is non-conductive and non-capacitive then there isn't really an issue with too much paste besides wasting the paste.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,559
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    173
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    93
    Thanked in
    84 Posts

    Default

    I must admit that when I open up units, the manufacturer has often put on too much paste.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,837
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    568
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    499
    Thanked in
    371 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I must admit that when I open up units, the manufacturer has often put on too much paste.
    Yes. Because too much is better than not enough.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •