Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Running a PC power supply on DC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,394
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    145
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    85
    Thanked in
    77 Posts

    Default Running a PC power supply on DC

    I believe older PC power supplies would probably have no problem running on 400 Hz mains (as found on ships) or even 140 V DC from batteries if push came to shove, but how would modern PC power supplies (with APFC) react to such inputs?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,647
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    564
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    429
    Thanked in
    322 Posts

    Default

    I'm having flashbacks.

    Did you ask this same question two years ago?!?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,040
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    351
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    36 Posts

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,394
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    145
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    85
    Thanked in
    77 Posts

    Default

    I be getting old, please feel free to delete this thread as a duplicate.

    Actually, its the DC part that interests me this time round.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 04-05-2020 at 11:23 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,647
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    564
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    429
    Thanked in
    322 Posts

    Default

    Ah! The one I was thinking of was just over a year ago. I didn't recall the one from a couple months ago.



    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I be getting old, please feel free to delete this thread as a duplicate.

    Actually, its the DC part that interests me this time round.
    It's fine. I was just teasing. It's such an obscure question that I really did have deja vu to see it asked again.

    As for DC... I'm getting rusty. It's info that doesn't apply to me, so I allow the beer to push those brain cells out of the way.

    IIRC: An AC to DC SMPS can run on a DC source as well as AC, but there are specifics.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,394
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    145
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    85
    Thanked in
    77 Posts

    Default

    Was wondering how the APFC circuit would respond to DC
    Last edited by ashiekh; 04-06-2020 at 08:32 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •