Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: $14.00 Silverstone Fan Hub Uses Capacitor - why?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,591
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    177
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    97
    Thanked in
    88 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DWD1961 View Post
    You would think that at least the specifications for fan power usage would be accurate.

    They are; see my previous comment on the affinity laws

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/show...119#post162119
    Last edited by ashiekh; 02-18-2020 at 08:22 PM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    California
    Posts
    100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    They are; see my previous comment on the affinity laws

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/show...119#post162119
    Yep, the math is right but I think Johnny was saying you can't trust anything. I was saying I would think you could at least trust how much power their fans use in their spec sheets.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,591
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    177
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    97
    Thanked in
    88 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DWD1961 View Post
    There aren't going to be any other devices on any SATA connector. I'm using an M2 Nvme drive in an M2 drive slot, no CD/DVD, and nothing else. So at least that isn't a problem. And, if I ever do need it, I'll make sure to use another line beside the one on the fan hub.

    In general the lines are not independent, but I would not worry; the capacitor is a precaution.

    But you were right to ask how 25% more speed could lead to twice the power; at first it does not seem reasonable.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    California
    Posts
    100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    In general the lines are not independent, but I would not worry; the capacitor is a precaution.

    But you were right to ask how 25% more speed could lead to twice the power; at first it does not seem reasonable.
    Thanks. Forgot the 5Vis all the same line. I think I'm just going to use the lower speed fans anyway. I'll have plenty of air flow using 4-6 140mm fans in the atx/itx case I'm going to build in.

    Thanks for the link explaining fan power and RPMs.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,591
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    177
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    97
    Thanked in
    88 Posts

    Default

    You will drive yourself crazy with all these questions...

    once that happens you can join the rest of us nutcases ;-)
    Last edited by ashiekh; 02-19-2020 at 05:34 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    California
    Posts
    100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    You will drive yourself crazy with all these questions...

    once that happens you can join the rest of us nutcases ;-)
    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    You will drive yourself crazy with all these questions...

    once that happens you can join the rest of us nutcases ;-)
    Heh, yeah, but fan riser amps is really a need to know thing for building a higher end PC for gaming. The cap thing, well, I just didn't want a 15 dollar item taking out my entire MB and CPU.

    If Giigabyte ever gets back to me, and the riser can handle my fan needs, I'll just go with a pass through fan hub that powers right from the header itself, and be done with it--nice and simple.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,591
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    177
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    97
    Thanked in
    88 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DWD1961 View Post
    The cap thing, well, I just didn't want a 15 dollar item taking out my entire MB and CPU.

    It won't do that.

    There are plenty of capacitors on the mother board and in the power supply if you want to worry about those also.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 02-20-2020 at 06:28 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •