Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Heavy GPU coil whine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Question Heavy GPU coil whine

    Hey guys.

    First of all I'm using an Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 550W, which not a bad PSU.
    https://www.hardwaresecrets.com/cool...supply-review/

    I'm experiencing coil whine on a ASUS STRIX RX570 on virtually all running heavy loads like ASUS FurMark + CPU Burner, Heaven Benchmark, Valley Benchmark, GTAV, Everspace, Skyrim even old games like Just Cause 2 and Need For Speed Hot Pursuit (2010).

    While running the GPU utilization would dip to 88%, sometimes 60%, lowest was 51%. Possibly throttling? I assume the PSU doesn't have enough current (amperage) on the 12V rail, it's rated 16 AMPS and my GPU requires 25A according to this list. Apparently it is dual rail, but I tried putting the GPU on the second rail but made no difference. I have no overclocking active. Does this GPU really draw 25 amps?

    https://forum-en.msi.com/faq/article...phics-cards-20

    Strangely enough, my CPU isn't throttling. I'm wondering why this PSU hasn't failed yet? My REAL question is should I get a new PSU? I'm looking at getting a Cooler Master MasterPower 650W, which is stated 54 AMPS on the 12v rail.

    https://www.kitguru.net/components/p...supply-review/

    My System Specs.
    CPU: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
    Mobo: MSI B450 Tomahawk
    RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V 2666Mhz (2x4GB)
    GPU: ASUS Strix RX570 OC Edition (4GB)
    PSU: Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 550W
    HDD: 1TB Toshiba MQ01ABD100
    OSs: Windows 10 Pro x64 SP1
    Last edited by heinrikur; 01-10-2020 at 02:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    545
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    363
    Thanked in
    266 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heinrikur View Post
    I assume the PSU doesn't have enough current (amperage) on the 12V rail, it's rated 16 AMPS and my GPU requires 25A according to this list.
    That's not how power supplies work. If the PSU wasn't able to supply enough power, it would shut down.

    Also, your graphics card does not need 300W of power by itself.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    The actual card consumption hardly goes over 120W according to the Radeon Overlay.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,477
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    385
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    150
    Thanked in
    113 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heinrikur View Post
    Hey guys.

    First of all I'm using an Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 550W, which not a bad PSU.
    https://www.hardwaresecrets.com/cool...supply-review/
    It is by today's standards. Or at best really mediocre.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    545
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    363
    Thanked in
    266 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heinrikur View Post
    The actual card consumption hardly goes over 120W according to the Radeon Overlay.
    Exactly. So what makes you think you're drawing too much from your PSU?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,196
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    125
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    65 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heinrikur View Post
    While running the GPU utilization would dip to 88%, sometimes 60%, lowest was 51%. Possibly throttling? I assume the PSU doesn't have enough current (amperage) on the 12V rail, it's rated 16 AMPS and my GPU requires 25A according to this list. Apparently it is dual rail, but I tried putting the GPU on the second rail but made no difference. I have no overclocking active. Does this GPU really draw 25 amps?

    As far as I know nothing throttles on purpose due to under-voltage.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    Exactly. So what makes you think you're drawing too much from your PSU?
    The coil whine I guess. At first I thought that it would melt cables since this PSU has no OCP. It does have OPP.

    I opened up the PSU today, I have done it before, so I won't electrocute myself. Discharged it properly, cleaned out the fan oiled it with some electric cleaner. Checked for blown up caps, but none. No burned resistors or diodes.
    Last edited by heinrikur; 01-12-2020 at 02:07 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    That's not how power supplies work. If the PSU wasn't able to supply enough power, it would shut down.

    Also, your graphics card does not need 300W of power by itself.
    I've been watching videos of you with GamersNexus and others Youtubers all day, I still don't understand. None of these videos speak about rail amperage and how much load components put on a PSU. Please enlighten me or show me in the right direction.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    As far as I know nothing throttles on purpose due to under-voltage.
    All I know is that the 12v rail voltage drops from 11.808v to 11.520v under load.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,196
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    125
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    65 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heinrikur View Post

    ...cleaned out the fan oiled it with some electric cleaner. Checked for blown up caps, but none.

    Not sure that is the best lubricant; I use fully synthetic engine oil but am thinking about automatic transmission fluid/power steering fluid.

    Even domed tops are enough to indicate failure.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •