Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Is there any 'true multi rail' psu this day?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    352
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    164
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    19 Posts

    Default Is there any 'true multi rail' psu this day?

    Is there any 'true multi rail' psu this day?
    Last edited by rgbodosk; 01-09-2020 at 06:27 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,527
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    387
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    160
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    What's your definition of a true multi rail PSU? Two power supplies in one package like CWT PUC?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    352
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    164
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    19 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    What's your definition of a true multi rail PSU? Two power supplies in one package like CWT PUC?
    I don't really know which type of non-virtual multi rails exist...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    287
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    90
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Probably Be Quiet! make some.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,452
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    556
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    387
    Thanked in
    284 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by none77 View Post
    Probably Be Quiet! make some.
    What?

    This thread is weird. Non-nonsensical questions being answered with non-nonsensical answers.

    Quote Originally Posted by rgbodosk View Post
    Is there any 'true multi rail' psu this day?
    Most, if not all current, PSUs have a single +12V source split into multiple circuits, each with an OCP on it. That's what is considered "multiple +12V rail".

    The only way you would get "true" multiple +12V rails is if you literally had multiple +12V sources within the PSU. This is what CWT did with the PUC. But it's not efficient and very expensive. It serves no purpose given the technology available today. Back then (< 2008), it was necessary because a single transformer that supported that high of a wattage (1000W and up) was too large to fit inside the PSU housing.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    Mezoxin (01-09-2020)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    and that is why the new bequiet flagship (Dark Power Pro 1200W and 1500W Digital PSU) has true multiple 12v rails due to space constraints as they couldn't fit one big transformer
    Attachment 3943Attachment 3943
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    287
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    90
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Last edited by none77; 01-09-2020 at 05:12 PM.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,452
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    556
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    387
    Thanked in
    284 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mezoxin View Post
    and that is why the new bequiet flagship (Dark Power Pro 1200W and 1500W Digital PSU) has true multiple 12v rails due to space constraints as they couldn't fit one big transformer
    Attachment 3943Attachment 3943
    Attachments don't work.

    But that's an old PSU. They don't do that anymore because transformer technology has improved.

    Quote Originally Posted by none77 View Post
    Not "true" multiple +12V rail as OP was asking about.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    Mezoxin (01-10-2020)

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    352
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    164
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    19 Posts

    Default

    There are some high wattage models with two transformers nowadays, so you mean they just work parallel, not individually?

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to rgbodosk For This Useful Post:

    Mezoxin (01-10-2020)

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    from Aris PSU 101 guide

    " In some larger-capacity PSUs, there are two main transformers, instead of one, installed in parallel, simply because a single transformer would have very large dimensions and thus wouldn't fit inside the PSU's casing."
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Mezoxin For This Useful Post:

    rgbodosk (01-10-2020)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •