Thread: Power woes... What causes this?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Power woes... What causes this?

Hello, Newbie here.

Been messing with Pc's since Pentium 2. Had a break for a few years. (Slowly) Getting back into it. Have an Aladdins cave in the loft of old stuff that nobody would ever want or need. Got gifted a 'few' parts from people upgrading.

Anyhoo, power issues with my current PC have guided me to this wonderful forum.

Had my daily rig running all good.
    AMD FX8120, Corsair vengeance 8gb 1600mhz, and an ancient GeForce 6600 thing. All powered by a cheapo (supposedly 800w) PSU.

Started looking into running games. How foolish of me.

Bought a second hand R9 280x DD. Required an 8pin + 6pin. Cheapo psu already had a 6pin, so modded a couple of the individual 4pin molex's and soldered an 8pin connector in. (Took supply from three different yellow wires)

Problem 1 :

Fired it up, and it worked flawlessly. (For about an hour) unstressed, just downloading stuff. Not gaming. Then... black screen. Fan speeded up. Power button unresponsive. Removed mains, and reapplied.
    Booted back up. Lasted 5 mins then black screen, fast fan speed, power button unresponsive. Upon inspection, this plug has completely melted on the two yellow 12v pins. Ignore the wire going under the mobo, I put it there to hold it while I took photo.

My initial thoughts were.... perhaps the FX-8120 combined with the R9 280 were sucking too much through the 2 yellow wires on the board. Weakest point being the square crimp, hence cooked.

Anyone shed any actual light on it?

Back to the parts bin (the loft) and onto problem 2.

Found a Gigabyte AM3+ board with an 8 pin atx power connector. And an EZcool cheapo 600w PSU :

Thinking... spread the load over the extra pins, job done.

Swapped it all onto the new board and psu. Fired it up. All good. Kept putting my finger on the 8pin atx connector checking for heat.