Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Information required regarding Gigabyte Aorus AP850GM PSU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Darjeeling
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default Information required regarding Gigabyte Aorus AP850GM PSU

    Hi folks,

    I was initially planning to get a Gigabyte Aorus AP850GM PSU for upgrading a friend's rig before the holidays.

    Then I came across this review on the mentioned PSU from Kituguru.
    https://www.kitguru.net/components/p...psu-review/12/

    Seems like there is a DC power sequencing problem for the 12v rail that doesn't meet Intel's specs.

    My friend is currently having an i7-8700K CPU paired with a MSI Z370-A Pro motherboard. Is this going to pose any problem for the CPU/ MB?
    Also the review was posted last year & can anyone confirm if this problem has been rectified by Gigabyte in the latest units?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,015
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    338
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    35
    Thanked in
    22 Posts

    Default

    Hi there Tito77.
    This isn't a problem IMO and the importance of the 12V and 5V voltage being higher than 3.3V during startup is uncertain. Intel doesn't mention why they think it's important, and even the reviewer is unsure why this specification was introduced. In the earlier reviews by Aris, he says:
    According to Intelís most recent Power Supply Design Guide (revision 1.4), the +12V and 5V outputs must be equal to or greater than the 3.3V rail at all times.
    Unfortunately, Intel doesn't mention why it is so important to always keep the 3.3V rail's voltage lower than the levels of the other two outputs.
    Intel should clarify the reasons for making this requirement, but I'd guess it's not so important or deal breaking.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Orion For This Useful Post:

    Tito77 (12-11-2019)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    188
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    17
    Thanked in
    9 Posts

    Default

    Since I don't talk to Intel, at all, I guess only Jon could help in this. It would be nice to know the reason.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to crmaris For This Useful Post:

    Tito77 (12-11-2019)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,313
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    545
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    338
    Thanked in
    246 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crmaris View Post
    Since I don't talk to Intel, at all, I guess only Jon could help in this. It would be nice to know the reason.
    Intel doesn't reply to my emails either.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    Tito77 (12-11-2019)

  8. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    66
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Isnt this a first that an Independant regulated model isnt compliant with that Intel Specification ?
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Mezoxin For This Useful Post:

    Tito77 (12-11-2019)

  10. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Darjeeling
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    I only have limited knowledge about PSUs & you guys have much better clarity than me.
    But unfortunately I am feeling a bit more confused!

    So, Orion, crmaris, Jon, Mezoxin, is it safe to use this PSU with an i7 8700K?

  11. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,443
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    382
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    133
    Thanked in
    104 Posts

    Default

    Certainly

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to -The_Mask- For This Useful Post:

    crmaris (12-22-2019), Tito77 (12-11-2019)

  13. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Darjeeling
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Hi guys,

    I have found a new observation for the DC sequencing issue of the AP850GM review which I mentioned earlier.

    Upon more carefully looking at the DC sequencing load graphs in the Kitguru review for this unit, its seen that the graph legend scaling is a bit inconsistent which makes it looks like the 12v rail is lower the 3.3v & 5v rails for sometime.

    But if you take a closer look at the values of the 12v rail on the PSU Turn-On test, you can see that the voltage for the 12v rail starts from 7v then went down to 6v (for few ms) then went up slowly to 12v. Which implies that it has always been higher than the 3.3v rail at all times.
    Same goes for the STANDBY TO FULL LOAD test, where as per the graph scaling the 12v rail is always higher than the 3.3v rail at all times.

    If the graph scaling are correct, then it seems like there is no DC sequencing problem at all!

    What do you think of this Aris?

    Thanks to a user named Koby who pointed this out in the review.

    https://www.kitguru.net/components/p...-psu-review/6/
    Last edited by Tito77; 12-18-2019 at 05:57 AM.

  14. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tito77 For This Useful Post:

    Mezoxin (12-19-2019), Orion (12-18-2019)

  15. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Darjeeling
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crmaris View Post
    Since I don't talk to Intel, at all, I guess only Jon could help in this. It would be nice to know the reason.
    Can you provide your feedback on the new info Aris?

  16. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    66
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    reading the intel specifications doesnt help either the wording and the graphs are very unspecific as they may suggest that they mean combined output level for the 12v1 12 v2 and 5v and not individual
    See how they combined the 12v1 12 v2 and 5v in a single graph
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •