Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: additional Power protections for electrical outlet with only nuetral and live wires ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default additional Power protections for electrical outlet with only nuetral and live wires ?

    all households where i live have their electrical outlet with no ground wire , ofcourse apart from the electrocution hazard ,and as I dont have the authority of making modifications to add a ground in my apartment , i was wondering what kind of protection i can use to protect my PC against damages from surges and brownouts , and i dont need uninterrupted power.
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    125
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    65 Posts

    Default

    A surge protector, although not all of it will be functional due to no ground; for brownouts a voltage regulator, although the supply itself should be fine if it can cover 110V to 220V without a selector switch (as with most modern supplies).
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    Mezoxin (12-06-2019)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    I only know surge protector in power strips but that diagram is something you install at your main panel ,how about for a 3 phase power main power source what should be the layout ?

    i was thinking of something like this just for the pc

    https://www.jumia.com.eg/belkin-surg...-14488790.html
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    125
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    65 Posts

    Default

    The diagram was just to show what you would lose by not having a ground connection for single phase (why the interest in 3 phase?)

    A remote switch is just one more thing to maintain, lose, break.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    I have a 3 phase main power 380v distrubuted in my household to 3 pairs of nuetral and live giving each 220V , I thought the diagram was something you can install at the main power panel between the phases and nuetral

    So the surge protector in my situation would draw the excess voltage towards the nuetral line instead of ground (which i dont have) ? which is not ideal because ?
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    125
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    65 Posts

    Default

    Because if your neutral and live surged together to say 500V, there would be no relative difference and so no suppression.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-06-2019 at 01:24 PM.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    Mezoxin (12-06-2019)

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    545
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    361
    Thanked in
    265 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mezoxin View Post
    all households where i live have their electrical outlet with no ground wire
    All?

    Are you sure about that?

    http://internationalconfigurations.c...pply-cords.php

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    yes that 3rd ground wire on the plug has no where to go
    The Problem stems out from the electrical regulatory authority in egypt , when their representatives install and commision electricity to households , they dont care if you have a ground wire and pit or not for your household , they only install the live and nuetral wires connect them to the meter and thats it , accordingly all the wiring in housholds and electrical outlets are configured accordingly , even in the most luxurious private resorts and compounds you would find it configured the same , So neither the regulatory authority requires grounding nor the end user is aware of the importance of grounding , So the end result its not configured in the wirings and electrical outlets unless you ask for it specifically
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •