Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Question Corsair RM850i trips circuit breaker during "switch on "?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default Question Corsair RM850i trips circuit breaker during "switch on "?

    I have noticed that my circuit breaker trips when i switch on the PSU after being turned off for a long time , this doesnt happen during load or normal operation or when i start up my pc when the PSU switch has been left on
    I looked at the breaker and its rated at 10A , My PSU Inrush current at 220V is probably around 66.7A but there is no information about the duration of such currents ( this is according to an HX850w review couldnt find one for my PSU)
    https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...su,5257-4.html

    Is this inrush current enough to trip the circuit breaker ?
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    124
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    65 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mezoxin View Post
    I have noticed that my circuit breaker trips when i switch on the PSU after being turned off for a long time , this doesnt happen during load or normal operation or when i start up my pc when the PSU switch has been left on
    I looked at the breaker and its rated at 10A , My PSU Inrush current at 220V is probably around 66.7A but there is no information about the duration of such currents ( this is according to an HX850w review couldnt find one for my PSU)
    https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...su,5257-4.html

    Is this inrush current enough to trip the circuit breaker ?

    Then lets estimate it

    Two 330F capacitors charged to say 350V

    I V Dt = 0.5 C V_c^2

    where

    I = 66.7 A
    V = 220 V
    C = 660 F
    V_c = 350 V

    gives us a Dt of about 3 ms, which fits with the idea that things can charge up in the first ramp of the AC, which is a quarter cycle and so about 4 ms.

    Now I recall about 30 years back there were special circuit breakers that were more tolerant to such inrush surge, I assume that they all are these days; how old are yours?

    The attached tripping curve suggests it is quite possible as you are at about 7 times the rated current (for a few milliseconds)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ashiekh; 11-28-2019 at 12:09 PM.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    Mezoxin (11-28-2019)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    545
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    360
    Thanked in
    264 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mezoxin View Post
    Is this inrush current enough to trip the circuit breaker ?
    Yes.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    Mezoxin (11-28-2019)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    i need to change the breaker then, this brings other questions , which rating should i chose for the new breaker as the circuitry in room where the PC is only have lights and wall sockets I am not sure about the wire guage used but i dont think that a 60A breaker would be safe for it , ofcourse i'll call a technician to do the job and ask for his advice but they are not that reliable , soi appreciate getting a second opinion from you about what is correct rating for a breaker according to wire guage ? and if the circumstances push towards a 40AMP breaker would it be enough to prevent an inrush of 67A @ 3ms from tripping it ?

    another question , is there any negative effects on the PSU if the circuit breaker trips while its charging up its capacitors , would it affect its commponents lifetime?
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post

    Now I recall about 30 years back there were special circuit breakers that were more tolerant to such inrush surge, I assume that they all are these days; how old are yours?
    I just checked it has been around 30 years since they were installed



    its the 2nd one from the bottom
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    124
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    65 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mezoxin View Post
    i need to change the breaker then, this brings other questions , which rating should i chose for the new breaker as the circuitry in room where the PC is only have lights and wall sockets I am not sure about the wire guage used but i dont think that a 60A breaker would be safe for it , ofcourse i'll call a technician to do the job and ask for his advice but they are not that reliable , soi appreciate getting a second opinion from you about what is correct rating for a breaker according to wire guage ? and if the circumstances push towards a 40AMP breaker would it be enough to prevent an inrush of 67A @ 3ms from tripping it ?

    If the wiring is only good for 10 Amp you can't just move to 40 amp, 4 times the current has 16 times the heating; but you can go for a slow-blow circuit breaker (if the electrician says it is OK)

    One thing I would try is to swap two 10 amp breakers to see if that solved the issue; some look newer and might have more surge ability.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 11-28-2019 at 07:22 PM.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    Mezoxin (11-28-2019)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    545
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    360
    Thanked in
    264 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    One thing I would try is to swap two 10 amp breakers to see if that solved the issue; some look newer and might have more surge ability.
    This is a great idea.

    Could just be a bad breaker.

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    124
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    65 Posts

    Default

    Over 2000 posts... and finally a good idea! it had to happen... eventually.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 11-29-2019 at 05:06 PM.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    adamsleath (12-05-2019)

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    got the technician today , he checked the wires and he changed all the circuit breakers as they were rated too low , and a 40A circuit breaker for the circuitry that include the power plugs in my pc room was installed , now the inrush current doesnt cause the breaker to trip
    CPU: i7 9700K / Motherboard: Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
    RAM: 2 x Ballistix 8GB DDR4 @3000MHz GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2070 Advanced
    SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe / HDD: 3TB WD 30EZRX
    PSU: Corsair RM850i -850w Gold / CPU Cooler: bequiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    PC Case: CoolerMaster H500P Mesh White /Monitor : Samsung Professional monitor S27B970D
    DAC: Audioengine D1 /Speakers : Focal Bird 2.1 / Headphones: Sennheiser HD 380Pro / B&W PX

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Mezoxin For This Useful Post:

    adamsleath (12-05-2019)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •