Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 64

Thread: Help me chose a good PSU?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    home
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Last night I finally did it:
    - I removed the CMOS battery, checked its contacts, put it back in, powered on and reconfigured the BIOS.
    Unfortunately, no luck: the issue is still there...two seconds after reaching desktop, my PC rebooted.Twice, before finally being usable.
    - I am currently looking around for firmware updates for all my peripherals, where available.
    - In the meantime, here's my speccy report, where you can see what's in, the temperature and so on...
    Code:
    http://www.speccy.piriform.com/results/vcdsiJH6EE2c7yGpdt0tQIL

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,318
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    545
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    339
    Thanked in
    247 Posts

    Default

    And you're using the GTX 1050 and not the on CPU graphics, right?

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,134
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    119
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    70
    Thanked in
    63 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pinopinotto View Post
    Last night I finally did it:
    - I removed the CMOS battery, checked its contacts, put it back in, powered on and reconfigured the BIOS.

    Did you check its voltage? How old is it?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    home
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    And you're using the GTX 1050 and not the on CPU graphics, right?
    Yep. Onboard one is disabled via BIOS, but unplugging the GTX and using the onboard one does not solve the issue: the PC still randomly reboots.
    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Did you check its voltage? How old is it?
    Whoops, erm...did not...I will remove it again and check it ASAP, as soon as I'm back home (I'll be out for the weekend).

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    home
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Did you check its voltage? How old is it?
    Sorry for being this late in posting back...bit of a hard week...battery is a normal 3V one, shipped with the motherboard. I did not have a tester at hand and I could not find a setting to read it from BIOS, but I remembered that speedfan used to be able to check CMOS battery voltage, so I ran it and it looks like the battery is still in decent shape, reading 3.09V voltage. I know this could be wrong, but at the moment it's the only way I have to check its life.
    The battery is pretty young, I guess...I bought the motherboard a little more than a year ago, around may 2018.

    Anything else I should check/do?
    My Rig:

    CPU Intel Core i7-6700k
    Motherboard ASUS Prime Z270-A
    RAM 16GB DDR-4 Corsair
    GPU Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050
    PSU CX750M
    1 x SSD 120GB
    2 x HDD 7.2RPM
    1 x 80RPM fan
    1 x CoolerMaster Seidon 120 liquid CPU cooler
    LG BD-Writer
    FrontBay 2 x 2.0 USB ports + 3 x USB 3.0 ports + cardreader
    K260 combo wifi KB+mouse
    external USB wifi adapter
    ..and my trusty USB 2.0 TARDIS Hub

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,134
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    119
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    70
    Thanked in
    63 Posts

    Default

    I have some old CR2032 batteries

    3.23V
    to
    3.32V

    so I'm not so sure about 3.09V; I had one such battery that had a good voltage but just could not take any load.


    Now I did have a computer that would show bad RAM no matter what RAM I put in; turned out to be the motherboard, not the power supply.

    I just can't understand the burn marks you saw, and you are not overclocking.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-04-2019 at 09:02 PM.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,318
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    545
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    339
    Thanked in
    247 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I have some old CR2032 batteries

    3.23V
    to
    3.32V

    so I'm not so sure about 3.09V; I had one such battery that had a good voltage but just could not take any load.


    Now I did have a computer that would show bad RAM no matter what RAM I put in; turned out to be the motherboard, not the power supply.

    I just can't understand the burn marks you saw, and you are not overclocking.
    To state the obvious: You're going to see burnt contacts on the motherboard if you have poor conductivity or too much load.

    So either way you're probably looking at a faulty motherboard.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    home
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I have some old CR2032 batteries

    3.23V
    to
    3.32V

    so I'm not so sure about 3.09V; I had one such battery that had a good voltage but just could not take any load.

    Now I did have a computer that would show bad RAM no matter what RAM I put in; turned out to be the motherboard, not the power supply.

    I just can't understand the burn marks you saw, and you are not overclocking.
    Just remember, though, that the burn marks were on the old MSI motherboards, not on this new ASUS one...this one does not seem to have visible marks or issues...

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    To state the obvious: You're going to see burnt contacts on the motherboard if you have poor conductivity or too much load.

    So either way you're probably looking at a faulty motherboard.
    Yup, that much I guess I understood...you mean that, since all other issues have been creared off, this could be the motherboard itself? I'm quite asthonished,really...three faulty boards in little more than one year's time? :/

    Any other suggestions to pin down this, before contacting Amazon or ASUS for a replacement?
    Last edited by pinopinotto; 12-05-2019 at 03:22 PM. Reason: Typos

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,134
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    119
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    70
    Thanked in
    63 Posts

    Default

    Voltmeter on the CMOS battery?

    Is that an echo I hear?
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-05-2019 at 07:55 PM.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,318
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    545
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    339
    Thanked in
    247 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pinopinotto View Post
    Yup, that much I guess I understood...you mean that, since all other issues have been creared off, this could be the motherboard itself? I'm quite asthonished,really...three faulty boards in little more than one year's time? :/

    Any other suggestions to pin down this, before contacting Amazon or ASUS for a replacement?
    Right. Just the first board. And I responded to quickly.

    The problem could be a component drawing too much power through the board, via a particular trace, to the individual pin. Most likely culprit then would be high end or overclocked RAM in a low end board, but you said you already tried other RAM.

    I would like to go back to the PSU for a minute.. You don't happen to know the lot code (first eight digits of S/N) of the new AND THE OLD PSU, do you?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •