Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: dc-dc psu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default dc-dc psu

    I plan to use a led power supply 12V and the following dc-dc psu to power my router (pc based), modem and switch:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3274...3da24c4d7qbA1n
    Thoughts?

    Router:
    A68N-2100
    2x2gb dd3
    pcie dual gigabit board
    sata ssd
    Last edited by strumf666; 10-31-2019 at 09:16 PM.
    R7 3800x
    2x16 G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 DIMM CL16-19-19-39
    Asus Prime x370 pro
    Vega 64
    500GB Samsung 970 pro
    Corsair RM1000i
    EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,466
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    556
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    391
    Thanked in
    288 Posts

    Default

    I'm more concerned about what the "LED power supply" is more than the DC to DC PSU.

    If it's made to output +12V for just LED's, it's probably pretty shitty.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Can you elaborate on the shitty part? Volatage out of specs? Ripple? Something else?

    An example of what I could use:
    https://www.superstrela.com/led-svet...0v-dc-12v.html
    https://www.superstrela.com/led-svet...0v-dc-12v.html
    R7 3800x
    2x16 G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 DIMM CL16-19-19-39
    Asus Prime x370 pro
    Vega 64
    500GB Samsung 970 pro
    Corsair RM1000i
    EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,466
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    556
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    391
    Thanked in
    288 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by strumf666 View Post
    Can you elaborate on the shitty part? Volatage out of specs? Ripple? Something else?
    Correct. Yes. All of the above.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Ok, would a brick for a security camera be better or worse? It's even cheaper :P
    What would you suggest to use as a power source for a dc-dc psu?

    Another option is to run 2 wires across the room from pa proper psu which is powering my torrent/home server/... pc which is runing 24/7.
    R7 3800x
    2x16 G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 DIMM CL16-19-19-39
    Asus Prime x370 pro
    Vega 64
    500GB Samsung 970 pro
    Corsair RM1000i
    EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,466
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    556
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    391
    Thanked in
    288 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by strumf666 View Post

    Another option is to run 2 wires across the room from pa proper psu which is powering my torrent/home server/... pc which is runing 24/7.
    Sure. By the time it gets across the room, it might be at 9V.

    Or do you plan on running 8g wire?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    It's approx 5m of cable and the max load guesstimate is 50W so I am sure that 8g is very over the top. As I said it's an option, I didn't say I am doing it.
    What would you suggest to use as a power source for a dc-dc psu?
    R7 3800x
    2x16 G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 DIMM CL16-19-19-39
    Asus Prime x370 pro
    Vega 64
    500GB Samsung 970 pro
    Corsair RM1000i
    EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,264
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    133
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    76
    Thanked in
    69 Posts

    Default

    Why so complicated? mains to 12V to ATX and only 60W on the 12V line.

    A PC based router might take 50W which will cost a lot in electricity, so a stand alone unit might save money.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    In short, I'm a complicated person
    R7 3800x
    2x16 G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 DIMM CL16-19-19-39
    Asus Prime x370 pro
    Vega 64
    500GB Samsung 970 pro
    Corsair RM1000i
    EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    2,264
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    133
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    76
    Thanked in
    69 Posts

    Default

    I used to live in Trieste, Italy and Slovenia was one of my favorite places to visit for the mountains and caves.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •