Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Anyone still gaming with old hardware?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Anyone still gaming with old hardware?

    Since my gaming rig is down every other month, I have to fallback on a 3000+ Barton@2349 Leadtek 6800GT 420/1115 softmodded and VM 1.45, 1gb KVR
    I can game at 1280x1024 4xAA 8xAF, The only game that gives me problems, is HL2 & HL2:E1 I get crazy ass artifacts, full HDR
    F.E.A.R runs great, but I decrease the AA & AF to 2x and 4x, the intense parts tend to stutter because of me only running a gig of RAM
    That was $405 well spent for that 6800GT, eons ago
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    GURU-ville
    Posts
    1,304
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    48
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    I still have an XP3200 with a 6800 vanilla installed as a back up, does ok but it does suck moving backwards.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You got that right
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,527
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    503
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    46
    Thanked in
    36 Posts

    Default

    I still have a ColecoVision under the TV in the entertainment center.

    Donkey Kong, anyone?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    150
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    until this March, I played with a rather humble hardware (one in my sig), best looking game I played on it was Sacrifice and the 2 Knights Of The Old Republic (loved'em). but no more than 1024x768 AFx2 AAx2
    [ Soltek SL-75JV // AMD Athlon XP 1460 MHz (13x112) 1.65v // 896MB SDRAM 145MHz 2-2-2-6// FX5200 AGP4x// S-B X-Fi // Quantum Fireball 40GB hdd 4500rpm // 250 W psu ] R.I.P.
    current pc

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I use Dosbox to make my hardware act old. Does that count?

    Anybody up for a game of HQ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    53
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I am still playing Diablo 2 LOD on my older Athlon Xp 2000+ pc equipped with a Radeon 9600XT. Other games are Civilization III and Call of Duty 1.
    Last edited by CTman; 05-11-2007 at 07:18 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, I just replayed my way through the original "Dark Forces" for the heck of it! That is more of an old game on new hardware though.

    By the way, nice 1.46 mhz machine Bipidri! I didn't know that AMD had made any processors that slow in a long, long time. and it runs KOTR!!! Amazing!
    It used to be that my life and my computers coexisted peacefully...

    Then I got married.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah. I'm still running a socket 754 3400+ Newcastle rig with a 9800pro as a backup. Plays Delta Force:Blackhawk Down quite nicely.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stabbin View Post
    Yeah. I'm still running a socket 754 3400+ Newcastle rig with a 9800pro as a backup. Plays Delta Force:Blackhawk Down quite nicely.

    Pic of that rig: [url]http://home.surewest.net/hivac/images/loop.JPG[url]


Similar Threads

  1. Need help with UPS + 2 Gaming PCs
    By Benuva in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-08-2018, 02:19 PM
  2. What do you need to build a Gaming PC?
    By BrovoTheta in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2017, 12:02 PM
  3. New Gaming PC
    By ReaConJD in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-09-2015, 09:30 AM
  4. Need help with a psu for my gaming pc
    By Gotuso in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2012, 05:33 AM
  5. PSU for gaming rig
    By Icewind in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-10-2007, 01:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •