Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Budget PSU for old computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Budget PSU for old computer

    Hello.

    I have an old computer that is used for internet, excel, word, watching videos, etc., and I think that the PSU is dying: when I try to turn the pc on, the PSU light starts blinking and the computer doesn't turn on. 5 minutes later it turns on. Therefore, I think there may be some problem with the condensators.

    I would like to get a new PSU. Computer specs are:

    Inter Core i3 560@3.33 GHz not overclocked
    Gigabyte H55M-S2H
    2x4GB DDR3 Modules, Kingston
    Nvidia Geforce 210
    Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250 Gb ATA Device
    1xDVD reader
    1xDVD recorder

    Since it is an old computer, I would like spending around 50Ä for a new PSU, not noisy if possible.

    What would you recommend?

    I'll be buying it in Spain, at amazon.es

    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,069
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    And when it's on, it stays on with no problem?

    Sounds like a motherboard problem.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    fallingrat (4 Weeks Ago)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,641
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    66
    Thanked in
    60 Posts

    Default

    What PSU do you have right now?

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Stefan Payne For This Useful Post:

    fallingrat (4 Weeks Ago)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    And when it's on, it stays on with no problem?

    Sounds like a motherboard problem.
    Yes, once it is started, it works perfectly. I read somewhere that it could be a problem with the capacitators. Could it be?

    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
    What PSU do you have right now?
    I didnít know the brand. It is Bestec ATX-300-12Z. 300 W Max output.

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,314
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    379
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    102
    Thanked in
    80 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fallingrat View Post
    Yes, once it is started, it works perfectly. I read somewhere that it could be a problem with the capacitators. Could it be?
    Yes it could be a failed 5Vsb capacitor.

    I didnít know the brand. It is Bestec ATX-300-12Z. 300 W Max output.
    Bestec is the brand.

    But a PSU like for example the Corsair VS450 is already more than enough.
    https://www.amazon.es/Corsair-VS450-...dp/B0781G4R35/

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to -The_Mask- For This Useful Post:

    fallingrat (4 Weeks Ago)

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,641
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    66
    Thanked in
    60 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fallingrat View Post
    I didnít know the brand. It is Bestec ATX-300-12Z. 300 W Max output.
    Yeah, that's the brand and model number.
    What's available? I wouldn't wait too long to replace it.

    Are you planning on upgrading?
    If you don't plan on upgrading, look for a decent quality 300W PSU for example from FSP or be quiet (System Power 9, Pure Power 10 or 11).
    If you do plan on upgrading, a better PSU such as be quiet System Power 9 with 400W or more is recommended.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Stefan Payne For This Useful Post:

    fallingrat (4 Weeks Ago)

  11. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you very much! Iíll follow your advise.

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,964
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
    I wouldn't wait too long to replace it.

    You no like Bestec?

    and to think I rebuilt one of mine with the finest capacitors this world has to offer...

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,069
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    Yes it could be a failed 5Vsb capacitor.
    Or more likely failed capacitor(s) on the motherboard.

    I'm still not convinced this is a PSU problem, but a new PSU is easier than a new motherboard.

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,069
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    You no like Bestec?

    and to think I rebuilt one of mine with the finest capacitors this world has to offer...
    I don't think they're bad... just old. Bestec is still around, but they don't make desktop PSUs anymore. Haven't for a long time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •