Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Safe ways to pull some 5VSB?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    243
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    124
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default Safe ways to pull some 5VSB?

    I need some 5VSB to run a circuit. What are safe ways to do that? (in-case) Internal USB 2.0 connector? What about using crimp to pull power directly from psu cable? Any other method?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,084
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    540
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    You're not going to overload the +5VSB are you?

    Tapping into the +5VSB lead on the 24-pin is going to be the easiest way.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    108
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    59
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    If you use the internal USB connector the 5 VSB rail might be interrupted for a short time while powering the system on and off. That depends on the mainboard you are using.
    If you need continuous power, the ATX connector is the safer way.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Microflop For This Useful Post:

    rgbodosk (06-26-2019)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    243
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    124
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    You're not going to overload the +5VSB are you?
    Of course. I'm just making a wireless power sw... Circuit needs some milliwatts.

    How can I tap an atx pin?

    IzXOYPV.jpg

    Is this OK? (checked pin layout)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,965
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    I'd just get an extension and patch into that; that way things stay stock.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    243
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    124
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I'd just get an extension and patch into that; that way things stay stock.
    I thought of that too but extension cable is not good for performance... and too bulky. Most important, I am building a sff system now, so it will be impossible to manage cables.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,084
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    540
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rgbodosk View Post
    Of course. I'm just making a wireless power sw... Circuit needs some milliwatts.

    How can I tap an atx pin?

    IzXOYPV.jpg

    Is this OK? (checked pin layout)
    That looks way more elegant than my first thought:

    https://www.radioshack.com/products/wire-tap-ins

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    rgbodosk (06-26-2019)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •