Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Active PFC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    112
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default Active PFC

    Does APFC always imply one capacitor?

    I have a KDM-M6480 that claims

    "Active PFC 115-230 Volts AC" on the label

    but at the same time it has a voltage selection switch and two primary capacitors.


    Before anyone tells me it is garbage and I should never use this on a computer; I know, and turned it into a voltage supply.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,059
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    266
    Thanked in
    195 Posts

    Default

    Two bulk caps in a Corsair PSU:




    Also, a KDM-M6480 does not have APFC.

    It's garbage.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    112
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    I believe you; so the label lies.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,059
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    266
    Thanked in
    195 Posts

    Default

    It's KDM. Of course the label lies.

    Their website even says that the lower wattage units don't have APFC and that you would need the KDM-P80-PATX6550 550W if you want APFC.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    ashiekh (06-23-2019)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    sometimes there are 2 caps primary, but why? is it maybe parallel connected for increase the electric capacity?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    112
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    In the 'old' days it was so they could be connected differently for 110V or 220V (for 110V they were connected to form a voltage double using 2 of the bridge diodes)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    112
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Gerow View Post
    ... if you want APFC.

    I'm not so sure I want APFC; given how it may not like some rectangular wave UPS outputs (so called pseudo sine wave)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ashiekh; 06-23-2019 at 04:25 PM.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,059
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    266
    Thanked in
    195 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I'm not so sure I want APFC; given how it may not like some rectangular wave UPS outputs (so called pseudo sine wave)
    With a proper PWM controller and/or a high enough voltage bulk cap, it shouldn't matter.

    Weren't we having this conversation in another thread?

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    112
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    You are right, I'll try not to cross thread...

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    64
    Thanked in
    58 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by psupply View Post
    sometimes there are 2 caps primary, but why? is it maybe parallel connected for increase the electric capacity?
    Simple, 2 reasons:
    a) Size -> 2 smaller ones have a smaller diametre
    b) the Person designing the PCB wanted it that way

    There are some lower wattage PSU with more than one Cap, though they are mostly older -> Cooler Master Real Power PRO is one of them.
    Its mostly used in high wattage PSU though.

    If we're talking about 1000W or more, chances are there is more than one Cap inside.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •