Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Choosing UPS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Choosing UPS

    I am looking to buy a UPS for my pc. I have a 650 Watt psu, at max load i measured that my pc draws max 280-290 Watt. Here is my problem in my area the electricity goes off for just 5 seconds max 35-45 seconds and then i comes back. Can a 650VA ups do the trick for that time?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,866
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    104
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    32
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Default

    650VA translates to about 325-390W for most UPSs, so it should work; but I imagine you may be adding the monitor which may change the calculation.

    I'll not get into the argument that claims sine-wave units are needed with active PFC supplies
    Last edited by ashiekh; 03-02-2019 at 12:43 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The 290W is with monitor, speakers and router there are all in the same power stip. Also the power strip can it be plugged redictly to the ups?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,866
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    104
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    32
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Default

    Some surge protectors might not like the stepped output of some UPS units.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,865
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    525
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    179
    Thanked in
    129 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goude94 View Post
    The 290W is with monitor, speakers and router there are all in the same power stip. Also the power strip can it be plugged redictly to the ups?
    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Some surge protectors might not like the stepped output of some UPS units.
    Yeah. Better to get a UPS with the correct number of outlets. I would leave the speakers off the UPS and just plug in the PC, monitor and router.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the quick reply! one more thing i thing is a stupid question because i have a well cable managed desk and my pc is plugged in a surge protection strip with a phone charger can i just plug the strip directly in the ups? or will have a problem with the surge protection strip ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,866
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    104
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    32
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Default

    See the two posts previous to your question
    Last edited by ashiekh; 03-10-2019 at 09:55 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •