Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: O-scope output

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,087
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    540
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    275
    Thanked in
    199 Posts

    Default O-scope output

    Well... someone in another forum just ASSUMED I didn't know how to scope for ripple.

    Apparently it was their way of justifying getting an OCZ despite > 120mV ripple. lol

    So for the record, I'm going to post this here for future reference!

    Here's the load tester:

    http://www.sunmoontec.com/cpzs.asp?MidCode=SM-8800多功能電源測試儀

    ATX12V specifies that ripple and noise are measured at the connectors with a 0.1uF ceramic capacitor and a 10uF electrolytic capacitor to simulate a system load.

    These caps are installed behind the panel of the SunMoon tester, soldered to the inside of the BNC the scope leads screw onto. The old SM-268 had only one BNC output and one pair of caps. In fact, I had to re-solder those caps back into place after replacing the BNC after the BNC cable got caught on the edge of the desk. What a bitch that was! Ever see a 0.1uF ceramic cap?!?!

    A selector knob switches what rail goes past these caps and out the BNC for the scope. So if I turn the knob to 12V1, etc.

    The new 8800 has two BNC's, two sets of caps and the selector knob selects what TWO rails output via the BNC to the scope.

    That'll be all.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,087
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    540
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    275
    Thanked in
    199 Posts

    Default

    Photo of back side of BNC...

    (Sorry it's a crappy cell phone picture.)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,333
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Also, I believe such a combination (i.e Ceramic/Lytic or Tantalum/Lytic) is used to damp resonance to to the BNC's RF pickup/60 Hz noise. If that is his/their argument, why is the ripple on other units much lower than the OCZ? Why is the same levels replicated on all FSP units?
    Last edited by Super Nade; 10-18-2006 at 07:41 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    When using a USB Instruments Stingray (or any other oscilloscope), is a differential probe required to test for ripple?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    149
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Yep, unless you're plugging straight into a SunMoon BNC.

    Holy old thread bump, Batman!

Similar Threads

  1. Scope settings for PSU testing?
    By Siorus in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 01-19-2013, 03:39 AM
  2. Using a Fluke 123 as a O-Scope for a PSU Review
    By SKYMTL in forum Electronic Component Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 01:16 PM
  3. Cheap O-Scope
    By Phaedrus2129 in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-19-2010, 07:07 AM
  4. How to use a scope to test for ripple?
    By Kayin in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-27-2009, 04:21 AM
  5. Wich Scope is better for PSU Testing
    By Stefan Payne in forum Electronic Component Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-01-2009, 05:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •