Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Faulty Corsair CX550M?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Sverige
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Faulty Corsair CX550M?

    I recently decided to upgrade my PC for some gaming. It is an HP ProDesk 400 G3 MT. I did my research to find out what I would need and what would be compatible with my motherboard. I decided to get a GTX 1070, and a new PSU since the stock one was only 180W. I got the Corsair CX550M today and started putting it all in.

    Now after plugging everything in and turning the computer on, it turns itself off. Sometimes immediately after powering it on, sometimes after a couple of minutes. Sometimes I would get a bluescreen saying that "Windows hasn't loaded correctly" or something like that (translating from Swedish), and sometimes I get all the way to the desktop menu before it shuts down.

    The PSU also makes an electrical noise most of the time, but not always. This is how it sounds: https://www.dropbox.com/s/q7ymxlm6vbddkya/PSU%20crackle...

    In my troubleshooting I have tried:
    -Unplugging both the HDD and the Graphics card completely to rule them out.
    -Taking all the power connectors out and plugging them in again to make sure they sit correctly, multiple times.
    -Turning on the computer while the PSU is outside the case.
    -Reinstalling the old PSU, and it works fine (took out the GPU of course).
    -Googling a lot.

    Should I just assume that I got a faulty PSU and get another one?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,073
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    539
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    Did you test the PSU by itself by jumpering the power on lead to ground?

    You're sure a ProDesk 400 G3 MT is a standard ATX pinout?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,073
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    539
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    FYI: https://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Deskto...y/td-p/5570029

    Doesn't seem to be standard ATX.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    122
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    You're sure a ProDesk 400 G3 MT is a standard ATX pinout?
    And double check that, as the spec sheets for the ProDesk indicate a 12V only PSU.
    EDIT: Ninja'd by JonnyGuru

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Sverige
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So is the PSU unusable for my motherboard? Or is it fixable with any adapters or something?
    Last edited by Seybsnilksz; 01-14-2019 at 09:13 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,073
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    539
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Seybsnilksz View Post
    So is the PSU unusable for my motherboard? Or is it fixable with any adapters or something?
    There are adapters.

    Thought you did a lot of Googling?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Sverige
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Phiew, I thought I was going to need to build my own PC.

    Let me rephrase: I thought I did a lot of googling hehe. A week ago I knew nothing about PSUs and graphics cards. Before buying stuff I went through my usual research-gluttony and found a lot of warnings about GPU compatibility and CPU compatibility, but never anything about this.

    To avoid more googling: what adapter do I need?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,964
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    I believe the mother board controls the fan in the power supply, so you would lose this feature.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,073
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    539
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I believe the mother board controls the fan in the power supply
    Having that particular feature isn't necessarily a good thing. LOL!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,073
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    539
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    Is the main power connector on the HP motherboard a 20-pin? 24-pin? 18-pin?

Similar Threads

  1. Preview: Corsair CX550M – farewell, group design @HWI
    By Behemot in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-25-2017, 02:54 PM
  2. Faulty PSU? how to test?
    By Thatguy55 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-2014, 11:21 PM
  3. Faulty PSU?
    By fadiii in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-28-2011, 08:42 PM
  4. faulty psu or ok?
    By crazydiamond in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-26-2009, 02:19 PM
  5. Possible Faulty Corsair 620W PSU
    By Ric0chet in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-02-2008, 07:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •